Trying to replace Monsoon amp. - Pontiac G6 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 02-09-2016, 11:37 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Hornet GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Myrtle Beach, SC
Age: 28
Posts: 6
 
Question Trying to replace Monsoon amp.

Well, seems like my amp finally bit the dust a few days ago. Music was playing fine and then all of the sudden.. nothing but silence.

The GM part number for my Monsoon amp is 15833071, but all I'm really able to find online is part number 15833070.

So I guess my question is, do I need to track down an amp with the exact numbers as the one I have now? Or can I install one of the Monsoon amps that have slightly different numbers.

Thanks in advance for any help I can get in getting my tunes back!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20160209_124517.jpg
Views:	167
Size:	89.1 KB
ID:	10937  
Hornet GT is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 02-14-2016, 04:16 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 470
 
Good question. I'm interested also. It was hard enough finding a replacement rear speaker.


Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App

'11 Ram SXT 4x4 quad cab - 5.7L V8; 128,200kms
'09 Malibu 2Lt 3.6L - 140,000kms purchased 1 March 2019

'06 Pontiac G6 GT - 3.5L V6; 162,000kms (rear ended 15 Feb 2019, and given totalled title by insurance)
360ci is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 01-22-2018, 07:14 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 2
 
Did you ever find an answer cuz I'm in the EXACT same boat as you. Same part # and they're all too expensive. Others that are 1 digit off are a fraction of the price, so I'd love to know. Please post back if you have any info. Thanks.
skoops is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 01-23-2018, 07:32 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 470
 
No update on my end, I decided to stick with the stock amp.

'11 Ram SXT 4x4 quad cab - 5.7L V8; 128,200kms
'09 Malibu 2Lt 3.6L - 140,000kms purchased 1 March 2019

'06 Pontiac G6 GT - 3.5L V6; 162,000kms (rear ended 15 Feb 2019, and given totalled title by insurance)
360ci is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 02-06-2018, 06:36 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 2
 
I found an amp in a 2006 G6, it had a completely different gm part # on it but I decided to try it on my 2008 G6 gt anyway. Much to my surprise it worked!!! It MAAAY be a bit less powerful than what I had but it's NOT a big deal. When you don't have ANY sounds in your car, it's brutal! I am extremely happy now. Ebay had some amps that were exactly like mine but they were all at around $350.00! I got this one from a junk yard for 20 bucks!!! So, as long as the connection part is the same as what you have on your amp, I'm guessing that they should work. Good Luck!
skoops is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac G6 Forum > Technical Discussion & Modifications > Car Audio, Video and Security

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac G6 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pontiac G6 Monsoon Amp Wheeljack Car Audio, Video and Security 2 10-11-2013 09:31 AM
Aftermarket upgrade to replace Monsoon but lost Onstar sound Travis Problems and Solutions 0 12-27-2012 10:11 PM
How would I know, Monsoon Amp amoyers89 Car Audio, Video and Security 36 06-11-2011 05:36 PM
Can one splice stock monsoon amp remote wire with anothe remote to turn on second amp S1227294 Car Audio, Video and Security 6 06-05-2010 02:23 PM
Monsoon amp reset? or bad amp? lobmydorf Car Audio, Video and Security 4 04-12-2009 04:15 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome