2009 radio in 2005 - Pontiac G6 Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 05-06-2009, 05:21 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 6
 
2009 radio in 2005

Will a 2009 radio work in my 2005 G6? I know the 2008 radios will, but I haven't heard if the 2009's do. The 2009 radio look the same, appears to mount the same, and connect with the same wiring harness. Has anyone tried or know if the radios are interchangable?
mkopmann is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 05-06-2009, 07:37 PM
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 18
 
If the '08's are the same, why are so intent on an '09?

Not trying to be a bother, just asking why. Because an 2008 radio would be cheaper and more abundant than a 2009.
Xz VADER zX is offline  
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old 05-06-2009, 07:41 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 6
 
I found a 2009 for a much better price (from an individual). I don't want to buy it and it not work for me. If he sells this one before I find out, I will go with a 2008.
mkopmann is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 18 (permalink) Old 05-08-2009, 07:43 PM
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 7
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkopmann View Post
I found a 2009 for a much better price (from an individual). I don't want to buy it and it not work for me. If he sells this one before I find out, I will go with a 2008.
I would go to a dealer and ask them if they can program it to your car first. Pontiac put a anti theft system on it where it only works for that car. It goes off the VIN #
FormulaElement is offline  
post #5 of 18 (permalink) Old 05-10-2009, 08:00 AM
Decepticon Extraordinaire
 
Lampoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Alamo
Posts: 5,348
    
It will work just fine. It does need to be programmed though via a Dealers Tech2.

MODS:
Crab Intakes CAB, MPD Ram Air hood, Custom exhaust,
WAMS High Performance Tune and a whole lot more....

My Progession
Lampoon is offline  
post #6 of 18 (permalink) Old 05-10-2009, 01:00 PM
Lead Foot
 
luckyedboy66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: AlAbAmA
Posts: 67
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkopmann View Post
Will a 2009 radio work in my 2005 G6? I know the 2008 radios will, but I haven't heard if the 2009's do. The 2009 radio look the same, appears to mount the same, and connect with the same wiring harness. Has anyone tried or know if the radios are interchangable?
may I ask why you want to do the swap? i assume its either for the aux in or the 6 disc changer...
luckyedboy66 is offline  
post #7 of 18 (permalink) Old 05-11-2009, 09:24 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 6
 
The 6 disk cd player went out and my wife wants to be able to play cds. So I figured since I am buying a new radio, I should buy the one with the aux input also.
mkopmann is offline  
post #8 of 18 (permalink) Old 05-11-2009, 09:32 AM
Decepticon Extraordinaire
 
Lampoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Alamo
Posts: 5,348
    
I recommend the 2008 or 2009 single CD as the 6 CD Changer doesnt last.

MODS:
Crab Intakes CAB, MPD Ram Air hood, Custom exhaust,
WAMS High Performance Tune and a whole lot more....

My Progession
Lampoon is offline  
post #9 of 18 (permalink) Old 05-18-2009, 04:08 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 6
 
I just installed the 2009 radio in my 2005 G6. It works and everything is the same.
mkopmann is offline  
post #10 of 18 (permalink) Old 05-18-2009, 04:26 PM
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1
 
Red face Question....

Hi mkopmann,

Did you have the dealership install that for you? This is an option I would really be interested in on my 2005 as well. Any extra info is appreciated. I am a new owner to the G6.

Thanks!
blondeqt505 is offline  
post #11 of 18 (permalink) Old 05-19-2009, 04:23 AM
Decepticon Extraordinaire
 
Lampoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Alamo
Posts: 5,348
    
two words-

Cool Beans




I just took in an 09 radio on a trade....guess I have a spare now. lol

MODS:
Crab Intakes CAB, MPD Ram Air hood, Custom exhaust,
WAMS High Performance Tune and a whole lot more....

My Progession
Lampoon is offline  
post #12 of 18 (permalink) Old 05-19-2009, 11:12 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 6
 
I installed the radio myself, but I had to take it to the dealership for them to program it to my VIN. They charged me $50, which I thought was a good deal.

To get the old radio out and put the new one in was not bad at all. It takes a little time, but it is not hard. Lampoon wrote a good how to if you are interested. I am not sure which post it was on, but just look through the radio posts or do a search.

Now I have a cd player that works and a aux input for my mp3 player. With the new radio I also got silver trim on the buttons that matches the trim on the vents.

By the way, I did get the single disk cd player so I don't run into the same problem I had with the 6 disk. I have heard nothing but bad things about the 6 disk cd player.
mkopmann is offline  
post #13 of 18 (permalink) Old 05-19-2009, 02:51 PM
Senior Member
 
RedRocket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bay Area, California
Posts: 174
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lampoon View Post
two words-

Cool Beans




I just took in an 09 radio on a trade....guess I have a spare now. lol
Looking to get rid of one of those radios?

2007 G6 GT

Debadged, K&N Drop In Air Filter, Pioneer DEH-6200bt w/ Metra Kit, L.E.D. Tailights, L.E.D. 3rd Brake Light, 7500k High beam, Low Beam, and Fog Lights, L.E.D Lights Behind the Grille, L.E.D. Reverse Lamps, Ya, Basically L.E.D.s all over, And more to come....
RedRocket is offline  
post #14 of 18 (permalink) Old 05-19-2009, 06:44 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Georgia
Age: 31
Posts: 24
 
Send a message via AIM to gsu_golfer Send a message via Yahoo to gsu_golfer
Is there an aux in on an 07?
gsu_golfer is offline  
post #15 of 18 (permalink) Old 05-27-2009, 05:59 PM
Pontiac Enthusiast
 
pzwestside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 53
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsu_golfer View Post
Is there an aux in on an 07?
Apparently not... but the 2009 I heard has a USB port as well..
pzwestside is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac G6 Forum > Technical Discussion & Modifications > Car Audio, Video and Security

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac G6 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Assistance with replacing stock radio with Aftermarket Stereo haveinmind Car Audio, Video and Security 5 01-13-2009 10:17 AM
2009 Track Day Schedule and Invitation Feffman Off-Topics 1 12-23-2008 05:27 AM
Several issues(strange noises) on 2005 G6 monica4290 Problems and Solutions 1 12-21-2008 11:13 AM
Radio Install Problem gribinvon Car Audio, Video and Security 1 07-12-2008 06:19 PM
xm radio on 2008? Gmolinaro73 Car Audio, Video and Security 2 05-27-2008 08:34 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome