CD Changer Help - Pontiac G6 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-28-2009, 08:40 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2
 
CD Changer Help

First time poster here...figured this was the best place to get accurate help! So I have a 2005 G6 GT and my cd changer recently went bad. Apparently GM wants $349 for the radio and then another $100 for the shop I go to for installation. This seems pretty steep for just the stock radio....any ideas on where i should go from here? I'm just assuming going the Best Buy route for a radio, but wasn't sure if there were any better ideas out there.
krems22 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-28-2009, 09:36 AM
GTP 06
 
maykevin5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Age: 36
Posts: 588
 
Send a message via MSN to maykevin5
$100 metra kit, $200 radio, $20 some wiring and about 2-3 hours install
maykevin5 is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-28-2009, 10:11 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by maykevin5 View Post
$100 metra kit, $200 radio, $20 some wiring and about 2-3 hours install
If I buy a used single cd player from a 2008 G6, installation can be done on my own correct? I would really prefer to keep the display and steering wheel controls. Thats why im looking into buying a used single cd player.

Thanks for your help. much appreciated.
krems22 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-28-2009, 12:32 PM
GTP 06
 
maykevin5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Age: 36
Posts: 588
 
Send a message via MSN to maykevin5
I hear you have to get it set to your car using a tech 2 from the dealer.. think its because of the computer that talks to the radio. Never had it done but I hear is around 50-70$ but i guess your dealer might be different
maykevin5 is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-28-2009, 04:00 PM
Decepticon Extraordinaire
 
Lampoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Alamo
Posts: 5,348
    
I installed mine myself...its not hard. Yes it does need to be programmed with a Tech2 - which is the laptop the service techs use. Doesnt take 5 minutes though.

MODS:
Crab Intakes CAB, MPD Ram Air hood, Custom exhaust,
WAMS High Performance Tune and a whole lot more....

My Progession
Lampoon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac G6 Forum > Technical Discussion & Modifications > Car Audio, Video and Security

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac G6 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cd changer error malpontiac Problems and Solutions 36 11-16-2011 09:46 PM
2005 Pontiac G6 with CD changer. I want a Kenwood DPX503 hawkinsman07 Car Audio, Video and Security 2 04-16-2009 02:58 PM
2006 G6 GT 6 disk cd changer kdb8z Problems and Solutions 11 01-26-2009 10:53 AM
CD Changer G6GT Problems and Solutions 51 12-10-2008 11:39 AM
Check Cd message GrandAmGirly Car Audio, Video and Security 0 11-16-2006 09:05 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome