What would prevent the Key Fob from working? - Pontiac G6 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-24-2019, 08:41 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 9
 
What would prevent the Key Fob from working?

Bought a used 2005 G6 for cheap, needs some body work and a few other things like the door latch fixed, dome light, etc but it came with a key fob that doesn't work. I replaced the battery but still not working. Provided that it is coded to the car (I wonder because the key only fits in the ignition and not the door or trunk) is there anything that can prevent the fob from working? Drivers power door lock switch works, passengers doesn't. Curious what I can check before taking it to the dealer to program it and want to prevent a situation where it fails and I still have to pay for the time spent.
ccbst10 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-24-2019, 09:13 AM
08 convertible
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 179
 
Remote inop is often caused by bad/worn switch contacts. Get a new case for the remote, it comes with a new rubber membrane with the contacts. Like this:
https://www.ebay.com/itm/5-Button-Re...frcectupt=true
dxG6 is offline  
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-24-2019, 02:20 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 9
 
I had disassembled André rested with foil to bridge the button contacts and still nothin’.
ccbst10 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-24-2019, 02:23 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 9
 
I can’t seem to edit... autocorrect. I disassembled the key fob and tested using foil instead of the pads to bridge to connection and still nothing.
ccbst10 is offline  
post #5 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-24-2019, 02:43 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: RTP Area, NC
Posts: 321
 
I have seen gadgets at some of the auto stores that light up if they get a signal from the fob. Often used to test the battery. Might be a cheap way to see if the fob is working...
boomer is online now  
post #6 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-24-2019, 06:27 PM
08 convertible
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 179
 
Could be a working fob that's not programmed to that car. Could be a bad receiver module. When you have 2 fobs you can easily determine if either or the receiver go bad. With only one that's not working, unknown history, you need diagnostic equipment or trial and error.

It might be cheaper and more practical to start over. Buy a receiver and 2 fobs and be done.
https://www.ebay.com/itm/NEW-OEM-GM-...!-1:rk:49:pf:0
dxG6 is offline  
post #7 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-25-2019, 10:22 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Canada
Posts: 105
 
Garage
Not sure how the 2005 works but on my cars the remote start has to be turned on. Aagain on my cars, this is done through the radio.
I was waiting for someone else to chime in.
Convertme is offline  
post #8 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-25-2019, 11:04 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 9
 
Yeah I saw that in the menu and it is on but the fob doesn't work with new battery. Again, this might not be coded to the car and the previous owner never got it to work and assumed dead battery. Can the fob be coded with a consumer-grade scan tool or does it need to be done with a special scan tool at the dealer? Ugh and now the key is stuck in the ignition, which I guess is due to the cable that runs from the shifter to the ignition?
ccbst10 is offline  
post #9 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-25-2019, 05:13 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Canada
Posts: 105
 
Garage
I will pm you but i am not good at it. If you google how to prgram factory remote to....pontiac g6 tjere is an eassy to
Convertme is offline  
post #10 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-25-2019, 05:36 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 9
 
I found this but it didn't work:

Quote:
Originally Posted by some web site
- Get in your Pontiac G6 and make sure all the doors and the trunk are closed.

- Put your key in the ignition and hold the "Lock" button on the driver's car door.

- Turn the G6 key in your ignition from "On" to "Off" while holding the "Lock" button, and do two more cycles of "On" and "Off" in quick succession.

- Release the "Lock" switch on your door and press and hold the "Lock" button on your keyless remote for 10 to 15 seconds.

- Remove the key from the ignition of your G6, and test the programming.
ccbst10 is offline  
post #11 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-25-2019, 05:59 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: RTP Area, NC
Posts: 321
 
As far as I know you need a Tech II or similar. Waterfowler has mentioned this a couple of times as a solution - Dorman-13732-Keyless-Entry-Remote
boomer is online now  
post #12 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-26-2019, 05:46 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Canada
Posts: 105
 
Garage
Not sure but worth a try,,,,,check your safety switch on the hood latch
And try reading my response to “just rebuilt g6”. maybe, you will see something helpful there.
Convertme is offline  
post #13 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-28-2019, 12:34 PM
ASE expert
 
jayram1408's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 67
 
Garage
Thats funny because I fixed our last night. The battery came de-soldered from the board. I re-soldered it and 10 minutes later and a new battery. Done. I had this happen before though, the little pieces attached to the rubber buttons wears off. I took a old remote control and cut some of them off and super glued them to it. It lasted about a year. Then I saw Autozone sold just the new cover with buttons. So I bought the kit which came with a few different backs, (various models it fits) no problems since.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190228_121343.jpg
Views:	46
Size:	94.3 KB
ID:	13761  

Jayram1408
jayram1408 is offline  
post #14 of 14 (permalink) Old 05-21-2019, 04:41 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 2
 
Get new rubber buttons you can buy a pack on amazon. Thats what fixed mine.
jpentecost is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac G6 Forum > Technical Discussion & Modifications > Car Audio, Video and Security

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac G6 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
KEY FOB not working. USMC0311 Problems and Solutions 7 05-04-2015 10:14 AM
Which key fob do i need? spaided G6 GXP Discussion 9 06-17-2011 04:35 PM
Key fob won't lock one door Temujin Problems and Solutions 3 04-12-2010 03:04 PM
two way factory key fob bubbashrimp Car Audio, Video and Security 0 12-22-2008 08:57 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome