G6 Radio w/6 disc changer - Pontiac G6 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-16-2005, 03:32 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 9
 
G6 Radio w/6 disc changer

Hey everyone

Does anyone know how many watts the stock radio has? This is not the monsoon, but just one step below. I'm looking to make some upgrades since this system is not the best in the world. My last car had a top of the line Apline dec, Boston Acoustics component speakers w/ crossovers, one 12" RF sub and two amps. One amp ran the speakers and one ran the sub.

I'm just looking for something with a little more umph...know what I mean?

Though, this really isn't bad for GM stock.
G6 Girl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-16-2005, 04:49 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 113
 
I've got the same radio as you, I agree that it needs a bit more. I had a '04 Grand Prix GTP that I traded for the G6 which had the Monsoon system. I was pretty happy with that system, although the audiophiles in ClubGP would bad mouth it.

Hopefully someone who knows will follow up with some good info about how to add to the stock system and at least be happier, I know nothing about choosing amps and subs. I can't afford to put the money into a whole new radio system.
Bob G is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-16-2005, 08:11 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 9
 
Thanks for the input Bob. I went over to Tweeter and the guy there (same one who put the first one together) seems to think that the 100 watts from the radio should be more than enough to run two 6x9 Boston Acoustics (SX95) speakers in the rear and two Polk Audio component speakers (MMC6500's) in doors. If that doesn't work he suggested adding an amp to clear up the sound at the high end and add just a little more power. The bass isn't too bad either. Though it's not the same without the subwoofer in the trunk LOL. I may be getting a little too old for this stuff.

Total will be around $700 or so. Not too bad, but I was hoping to find something for a little less $$...maybe I'll wait for a sale on Crutchfield.com.
G6 Girl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-17-2005, 01:05 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 488
 
$700 for just a speaker upgrade? That's a bit high no? My system upgrade in my old car cost around $900, and that was for a new headunit, 4 speakers, 2 subs, an amp, and a box, all Kicker brand. And Crutchfield is good for researching speakers and such, but I'd never buy from them considering you can get the same exact equipment for less than half the price at places like ebay.

Mike
GTPGuy82 is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-17-2005, 10:53 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 9
 
Again, thanks for the input. I guess it's all personal preference. Haven't had much luck with Kicker and prefer the sound of the BA speakers - a lot clearer at higher volumes. To each his own, I guess.

I don't want to replace my head unit since I'll end up losing all of my driver info. Plus, I never buy anything from ebay that's more than a few bucks. Again, all personal preference.

Enjoy your GTP
G6 Girl is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-01-2005, 06:46 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 7
 
I was browsing aftermarkets when I came across THIS, seems to be a good solution to those that don't want to lose their DIC
RedG6 is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-05-2005, 06:23 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 18
 
Thats a slick setup...wish it was a lil less on the wallet.
Githianki is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-06-2005, 07:10 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 369
 
... so what does that allow? ... you to install an aftermarket radio but still keep the computer displaied items in the LCD window at the bottom?
99grandamse is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-06-2005, 07:08 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 77
 
In theory it sounds good but aren't the trouble codes and start up test run in sync with the DIC? If so, then this would probably not be soo good.....

What do you think....

SBM
SBMG6GT is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac G6 Forum > Technical Discussion & Modifications > Car Audio, Video and Security

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac G6 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome