Amplifier Power - Pontiac G6 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 02-10-2010, 03:54 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4
 
Exclamation Amplifier Power

Ok gents, who has wired up their own Amp. I'm fine doing it myself, i just need a simple solution for the power lead. I looked under the dash and dont really see any access to the engine compartment. Any solutions ? 2008 G6
wstump1969 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 02-10-2010, 08:51 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 11
Blog Entries: 2
 
what i did with mine was run it through the door jam, then i cut a hole big enough for the hot wire to go through the housing on the rubber seal coming from the door to the pillars with the rest of the wires.
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 02-11-2010, 02:33 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 5
 
I would not recommend running your power wire through the door jam. You're just asking for trouble. There's almost always a place to run the wire through. Try looking from the firewall side rather than under the dash. If nothing else, drill a whole and use a grommet.
yoopster is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 02-11-2010, 02:55 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 11
Blog Entries: 2
 
its more so through the fender and into the rubber surrounding, but the door jam was the closest place for me to give a actual idea of where the wire is
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 02-12-2010, 12:05 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 5
 
You want to be careful of pinching the wire, through the door jam involved too many moving/vibrating/flexing parts that can rub the wire and expose the wire, which can ultimately cause a short, which can cause your car to start on fire. Also, by having that wire through your door jam area leaves it open to the elements. Rain can run down the wire and into your interior or other places you don't want it which can also puddle and lead to premature failure of your wiring, etc. Mold, whatever. Not to mention it looks ghetto as hell. lol.

As soon as I can tear into my car, I'll let you know the best places to run wiring. If anybody is in Texas, I'd be more than happy to help you out too.
yoopster is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac G6 Forum > Technical Discussion & Modifications > Car Audio, Video and Security

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac G6 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power Outlet rob6465 Problems and Solutions 6 07-28-2016 04:45 PM
No Power JohnnyPontiac Problems and Solutions 3 09-02-2008 05:22 PM
horse power? whiteg6 Powertrain Performance Modifications 5 05-25-2008 12:29 AM
power steering gmcouple25 General Maintenance 0 05-14-2008 06:06 PM
No power when I need it! Heidi Problems and Solutions 9 06-22-2006 02:39 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome