replace 05 radio with 08 radio? - Pontiac G6 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 04-28-2010, 10:18 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2
 
replace 05 radio with 08 radio?

I am getting a CD Changer Error message - it seems like its trying to change CDs, but wont. I tried taking the fuse out, disconnecting the battery, etc and nothing works. I found a cheap 08 radio with an AUX input that I am seriously considering buying to replace my Monsoon 6 disc changer. I have a couple of questions though:

- will the 08 be compatible with my 05 car?
- will all of my displays still work on the radio?
- does it need to be another Monsoon system?
- is it easy to replace this myself? I do understand that I will have to bring it to the dealership to have it programmed.

Thanks for your help!
mackers13 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 04-28-2010, 10:52 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Wayne NJ
Posts: 64
 
Yup, just had this done on my 07. Bought an 08 HU off Ebay, installed the head unit and it locked out. Took it to the dealer and $60 bucks + 5 minutes later it was done.

You get an aux port and if your lucky an XM hook up like I did for a future endeavor.

-Radio will work
-Retains all your MPG/Oil Life etc information. I did not lose any of my DIC data.
-DIC will work like normal, you get extra feature in the radio as well(text display etc).
-Replacement took me an hour, only because I am very cautious. If you search the forum there is a How-To on removing the stock radio, it was very helpful.
saberz is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 04-28-2010, 11:19 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2
 
thanks! now do i have to find another Monsoon stock radio, or will any stock radio do?
mackers13 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 04-28-2010, 10:55 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Wayne NJ
Posts: 64
 
I read that most of the 08+ are monsoon but i'd wait for someone else to chime in. I do know they will fit either way, I honestly didn't bother to see the difference because the Aux port was number one, but the XM and other options are bonus for me.
saberz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac G6 Forum > Technical Discussion & Modifications > Car Audio, Video and Security

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac G6 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2008 G6 Radio/CD to replace 2006 G6 Radio/CD Stereo pashley24 Problems and Solutions 2 05-01-2010 08:55 AM
do i really need this to replace my oem radio getonerd Car Audio, Video and Security 1 01-22-2010 06:37 PM
Replacing 05 Radio with 08 or 09 radio jscott0688 Problems and Solutions 0 06-02-2009 04:22 PM
Want a new radio bsjj27 Car Audio, Video and Security 7 05-27-2009 01:20 PM
Replace 2008 G6 GXP Radio NiteHawk79 Car Audio, Video and Security 2 02-13-2008 07:43 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome