06 GTP Radio Display quit working - Pontiac G6 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-01-2010, 06:25 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 6
 
06 GTP Radio Display quit working

Radio display quit working, however, everything else works fine. Short of replacing the radio, any advice will be appreciated.
dang5001 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-01-2010, 12:23 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 18
 
This just happened to me yesterday... I just started my search and saw this at the top of the list and had to comment.

I'm gonna search around and see if this has already been answered before. If I find something, I'll try to remember to copy a link into this post.

**Edit - I searched around and didn't find anything on this...

As an FYI - the car's an 06 G6 V6 Sedan and the display which shows fuel economy/etc, temperature and radio is blank... Assuming, like you said that it's some sort of light, but I'm not sure. I'll look into it tonight and see if I can figure anything out with it.

Last edited by stanleybb50; 06-01-2010 at 01:25 PM.
stanleybb50 is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-02-2010, 04:16 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 6
 
I haven't found anything, either. However, Best Buy sells an installation kit for an after market audio system that allows the DIC messages to be displayed. $199.00 for the kit alone. With the problems from my Yukon and now this vehicle, GM has cured me from purchasing another one of their cars or trucks.
dang5001 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-02-2010, 07:28 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 18
 
I hear ya... Ford has come a long way with the American reliability as of late I must add...

I've always been a Honda man myself (which I'm sure would drum up some hate from a Pontiac website...!)

The G6 is my wife's car actually.. (but we carpool to work and I drive, switching cars each week essentially). I do like the G6 though!

On another note, my display actually came back!
stanleybb50 is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-05-2010, 08:25 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 6
 
The display magically came back as I was about to by the kit and a new radio.. go figure...
dang5001 is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-15-2010, 01:17 PM
Junior Member
 
sausmonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 29
 
i sure hope the same thing happens for me. mine just quit today
sausmonkey is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-16-2010, 12:12 AM
WHITE G6 GT (:
 
dwhiteg6gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St. Louis, MO
Age: 28
Posts: 159
 
Give it a little tap/beat on the dash! If its certified take it to a GM dealer just to look at. It should be free. Also, maybe a fuse? But who knows. Good-luck and let us know.

Again, give it some beating it might just work haha.

Dillon
dwhiteg6gt is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-16-2010, 06:26 PM
MonsterG6
 
Klixslide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Missoula, Montana
Age: 28
Posts: 386
 
happened to me quite a few times when i got mine and i was all worried and concerned but i would just park and turn off my car and when i turned it back on after a bout 30 seconds it refreshed it and turned back on...it was irritatiing and ended up getting a new deck...and it has happened once with the new deck...maybe the wire? i dont know...
Klixslide is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-04-2012, 01:00 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1
 
I get this problem when I start the car with the remote start and when I forget to put the key on the ignition port.... after few minutes when the car is off then it goes back to normal
isaiah.o is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac G6 Forum > Technical Discussion & Modifications > Car Audio, Video and Security

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac G6 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
'06 Radio Display Problem je1279 Car Audio, Video and Security 3 02-07-2011 05:08 PM
Temperature display on radio nyislander27 Problems and Solutions 1 03-30-2009 02:25 PM
Radio display noodles Car Audio, Video and Security 2 05-20-2008 11:25 AM
my radio isnt working hiperman70 Problems and Solutions 0 01-09-2008 04:01 PM
Question about my XM radio display woodyronchar Car Audio, Video and Security 2 08-08-2005 08:32 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome