Stock Headunit and Sub woofer - Pontiac G6 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-13-2010, 12:18 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 441
 
Stock Headunit and Sub woofer

I am wanting to put in my sub and amp from my old car (12" diamond and 500w rockford amp) but I want to keep the stock headunit. The computer being tied in, I work in downtown st.louis and have to park on the street, so the less attention the better haha.

Long story short, what are my options? I highly doubt they have preouts, but then again I have not looked into it. I am going to run by a mom and pop audio shop today, but not sure if its something I can handle myself.

On a side note, the door and rear speakers, do I need to hard wire them together or do they use the harnesses? Thank you again,
David

David Hall - 2009 Pontiac G6 GT Blue 4-Door

Performance: CRABS 03 and FPU, Resonator Delete, RL Strut Tower Bar

Appearance: Debadged - Window Tint 35% front 18% back - Emblem Overlays - Door Sill Overlays
StLouisDave is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-13-2010, 12:26 PM
Moderator
 
waterfowler76's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 4,044
 
Send a message via Yahoo to waterfowler76
look into a line out converter.... i used mtx re-q. you basically splice it into your rear speakers and it gives you the out puts for your amp.

2007 PONTIAC G6 GT

Waterfowler's 6 <---- Check out my 6
waterfowler76 is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-13-2010, 01:21 PM
Senior Member
 
reverttheclown's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Syracuse, NY
Age: 28
Posts: 911
 
Garage
same hereeee...just used a line out converter- different brand than waterfowlers but did the job just the same. just splice into your rear 6 X 9's and run the RCA's from teh line out converter to the amp just as you would from an aftermarket head unit to the amp.

2006 Pontiac G6 V6 3500L
Crimson Red
reverttheclown is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-13-2010, 08:06 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Elmore, OH
Age: 40
Posts: 51
 
I do not like and I never suggest people to use line outs.

Most people have noise issues or do not get what they should out of them.

However if its your wish I highly advise and suggest you at minimum use a HIGH QUALITY line out converter.

Use this:
http://davidnavone.com/cart.asp?24&cat=7

The price is more than fair and the quality is second to none.
Ryan from Ohio is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-13-2010, 11:22 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 441
 
Am I better off just sucking it up and buying an aftermarket? if so, what about everything thats tied into the computer? When I bought the car one of the guys said to 'never pull it out' - I dont know much about the electronics in these cars haha

David Hall - 2009 Pontiac G6 GT Blue 4-Door

Performance: CRABS 03 and FPU, Resonator Delete, RL Strut Tower Bar

Appearance: Debadged - Window Tint 35% front 18% back - Emblem Overlays - Door Sill Overlays
StLouisDave is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-14-2010, 06:19 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Elmore, OH
Age: 40
Posts: 51
 
For what its worth, I have been doing car audio since the mid 90's.

Now looking at these cars with the radio as is, with information center integrated as well as trip odometer- I wouldnt recommend pulling it.

If you do you will loose this information.

However I find these units lacking in MP3 player support, USB and IPOD. Therefore I will be installing a Parrot Kit to cure these issues.

The only other alternative is a bit more costly, like a JL Clean Sweet, RF 360 or a Massive Flatline.

I sell the Massive stuff if you are interested. Heres the website:
http://massiveaudio.com/store/produc...cat=258&page=1

If it was my money I would stick to the David Navone LOC's.

The more expensive units require proper tuning and without the proper equipment it can not be properly done. Not many people have an RTA around either...
Ryan from Ohio is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-14-2010, 07:14 AM
Senior Member
 
reverttheclown's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Syracuse, NY
Age: 28
Posts: 911
 
Garage
the loc i used was scosche or something brand and it worked well for me...didn't hear any issues. picked it up at best buy for about 50 bucks...i definitely don't want to pull my stock HU

2006 Pontiac G6 V6 3500L
Crimson Red
reverttheclown is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-14-2010, 09:02 AM
Moderator
 
waterfowler76's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 4,044
 
Send a message via Yahoo to waterfowler76
and I'm very happy with what I have no issues or complaints. click here to check it out.

...if you do decide to go aftermarket you can keep your DIC with the kit by metra or scosche.

2007 PONTIAC G6 GT

Waterfowler's 6 <---- Check out my 6
waterfowler76 is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-15-2010, 08:52 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 441
 
Thats my thing, I really dont want to pull the headunit unless I 'have' to which it sounds like I have options, so its staying! haha.
Any options for gain control or anything? I listen to music all across the board and with the integrated aux, I've found a new hook with podcasts. Ie, sometimes country, metal, rock, rap and now talk radio, I don't need to 'feel' the bass in the voices haha. Again, any ideas?
Thank you again for all the great advice

David Hall - 2009 Pontiac G6 GT Blue 4-Door

Performance: CRABS 03 and FPU, Resonator Delete, RL Strut Tower Bar

Appearance: Debadged - Window Tint 35% front 18% back - Emblem Overlays - Door Sill Overlays
StLouisDave is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-15-2010, 09:31 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Elmore, OH
Age: 40
Posts: 51
 
Get an amp with a remote gain knob.
Ryan from Ohio is offline  
post #11 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-15-2010, 10:31 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 441
 
Right now i have a Rockford Fosgate T-500 1db http://www.rockfordfosgate.com/produ...item_id=107998 - I dont want to go into the trunk every time I put on talk radio tho, thought there was a gain control 'cable' I could run into the cabin. Thank you much

David Hall - 2009 Pontiac G6 GT Blue 4-Door

Performance: CRABS 03 and FPU, Resonator Delete, RL Strut Tower Bar

Appearance: Debadged - Window Tint 35% front 18% back - Emblem Overlays - Door Sill Overlays
StLouisDave is offline  
post #12 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-16-2010, 04:08 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Elmore, OH
Age: 40
Posts: 51
 
It has the connection for one, you just need to buy the knob.
Ryan from Ohio is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac G6 Forum > Technical Discussion & Modifications > Car Audio, Video and Security

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac G6 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: a ton of stock/ stock modified items headlight parts etc 6shift Items for Sale 4 06-18-2012 11:15 PM
Get XM to work with stock headunit? alaskanbo Car Audio, Video and Security 23 11-13-2011 11:17 PM
08 Headunit in 07 question. saberz Car Audio, Video and Security 7 04-15-2010 05:46 AM
need help installing aftermarket headunit asianman35 Car Audio, Video and Security 1 02-10-2006 10:04 PM
Removing Stock Headunit bigbengt67 Car Audio, Video and Security 2 11-12-2005 10:40 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome