Factory Radio Options - Pontiac G6 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-14-2010, 02:56 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Elmore, OH
Age: 40
Posts: 51
 
Factory Radio Options

With all the G6's what are the factory radio options out there?

I am trying to determine if mine has an amplifier or just head unit power.

Not familiar with the G6's at all.
Ryan from Ohio is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-15-2010, 08:13 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 441
 
when you turn it on, check and see if it says monsoon, if so you have an amp. If not, from what I understand your out of luck

David Hall - 2009 Pontiac G6 GT Blue 4-Door

Performance: CRABS 03 and FPU, Resonator Delete, RL Strut Tower Bar

Appearance: Debadged - Window Tint 35% front 18% back - Emblem Overlays - Door Sill Overlays
StLouisDave is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-15-2010, 08:51 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Elmore, OH
Age: 40
Posts: 51
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by StLouisDave View Post
when you turn it on, check and see if it says monsoon, if so you have an amp. If not, from what I understand your out of luck
ROFL

If it says Monsoon Im out of luck!

I dont want that crap in my car!

Well if thats the case no amp in mine, yippee!

That makes the harness I have to buy $50 instead of $150!

Ryan from Ohio is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-16-2010, 08:06 AM
GTP 06
 
maykevin5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Age: 36
Posts: 588
 
Send a message via MSN to maykevin5
if you peel back the back right corner of the trunk liner, the amp will be just behind that.
maykevin5 is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-16-2010, 09:18 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Elmore, OH
Age: 40
Posts: 51
 
Are we talking up around the rear deck lid or more back by the tail lights?

Any pictures of said amp?
Ryan from Ohio is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-30-2010, 11:28 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 11
 
I like the response given by St Louis Dave. Turning on the player and if it says monsoon. That really worked. You can use this idea. Thank you for sharing this.
gaush007 is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-31-2010, 12:21 AM
07 Black GT Vert ♥
 
TinIndian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: The North Coast
Posts: 445
 
I like my Monsoon 6 Disc XM just fine!
Who else likes their Monsoon unit?

TinIndian is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-07-2010, 04:25 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Elmore, OH
Age: 40
Posts: 51
 
One of these days I will get the stuff ordered and installed. I got bigger fish to fry right now though.
Ryan from Ohio is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-07-2010, 05:11 PM
Moderator Member Thingy
 
Abyssul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Myrtle Beach, SC
Posts: 1,330
 
Send a message via AIM to Abyssul Send a message via MSN to Abyssul
Quote:
Originally Posted by TinIndian View Post
I like my Monsoon 6 Disc XM just fine!
Who else likes their Monsoon unit?
The system was nice, but in order to hook up a subwoofer I had to start from scratch. Now I have a full blown aftermarket stereo system.

Now I gotta sell my old Monsoon system on eBay somehow.
Abyssul is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-09-2010, 06:02 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Elmore, OH
Age: 40
Posts: 51
 
Eh Im past the point for full blown systems anymore. I just want something that sounds decent, gets moderately loud and I can plug a USB stick into.
Ryan from Ohio is offline  
post #11 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-01-2011, 06:44 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Elmore, OH
Age: 40
Posts: 51
 
All I want is a way to control a USB flash drive...

I thought I would go with a Parrot unit. However after some reading I decided against it. Basically the parrot units bypass the entire stock system... The scary part is they have their own amplifier- of unkown quality. Knowing that a factory radio has built in EQ'ing thats non adjustable made me frown upon the Parrot.

So I found a cheaper alternative that seems to work OK.

$10... NAXA units... FM Modulated...

http://www.naxa.com/mp3-mp4-mobile-d...odulators.html

Like I said I paid $10 for mine shipped on E Bay, the lowest end unit. My biggest complaint is there is no way possible to quickly change folders (that I have figured out). There also was NO real directions to speak of with the unit.

For $10 Im pretty happy!
Ryan from Ohio is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac G6 Forum > Technical Discussion & Modifications > Car Audio, Video and Security

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac G6 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
using an ipod with factory radio asonofabeach69 Car Audio, Video and Security 7 02-26-2011 09:18 PM
does anyone want my factory radio ChromeG6 Car Audio, Video and Security 4 01-08-2009 05:31 PM
G6 Options arcticg6 G6 Buyer's Guide/General Information 1 11-18-2007 07:27 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome