Amp Location? - Pontiac G6 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-29-2010, 07:55 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
datacat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 237
 
Amp Location?

Where have you guys mounted your amp(s) in the trunk? Mounting directly to the seat would have it's benefits (good airflow) because of the way that plastic is designed with those grooves. I don't want to make holes in the seat though...

Mounting to the box is not an option because I want to be able to remove the box if need be and removing speaker wire is much easier than power, ground, etc.

Just looking for some ideas or pictures...

Thanks guys!
datacat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-29-2010, 09:38 PM
Moderator Member Thingy
 
Abyssul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Myrtle Beach, SC
Posts: 1,330
 
Send a message via AIM to Abyssul Send a message via MSN to Abyssul
I have a computer fan attached to my amp which is then elevated by some rubber at each corner. It just sits on the trunk floor.
Abyssul is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-30-2010, 06:53 AM
GTP 06
 
maykevin5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Age: 36
Posts: 588
 
Send a message via MSN to maykevin5
If you had the time and effort, you can make some mounts to mount it upside down under the rear deck.
maykevin5 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-30-2010, 08:05 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
datacat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 237
 
I like that idea Kevin... is this what you had done? A couple of braces is all it would take I assume. I'll do some measuring today...

Thanks
datacat is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-30-2010, 08:07 AM
GTP 06
 
maykevin5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Age: 36
Posts: 588
 
Send a message via MSN to maykevin5
I have mine mounted to my Sub box. I like being able to take it all out. I do haul stuff with the seats down so mounted on the seat would be in the way. Also I have a mobile powered sub..
maykevin5 is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-30-2010, 08:23 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
datacat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 237
 
You have a point there. So when you have to remove the box/amp, you just remove the inline fuse at the battery and/or tape up the wires?
datacat is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-30-2010, 08:37 AM
GTP 06
 
maykevin5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Age: 36
Posts: 588
 
Send a message via MSN to maykevin5
I put in a terminal block between my amp wire and amp. 8 gauge wire fits in nicely.

Power - Remote - Ground - leads from one of my rear deck speakers + -

Last edited by maykevin5; 09-30-2010 at 08:40 AM.
maykevin5 is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-09-2010, 09:48 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
datacat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 237
 
I really don't want to screw into my backseat. It seems to be the best spot to mount the amp though. Won't the plastic on the backseat warp or melt from the heat of the amp?

I ran my power wire today (PITA). I used an existing grommet just above the hood latch cable. It's a small group of wires that connect near the hood latch. I'm still waiting on my Metra kit to arrive so I can't finish the install until next week. I tried to run my ground to the seat bolt but I need a bigger ring to connect it. I don't want to make any holes in this car!

Mounting to the seat would make it a really clean install. The ground would also be very close at the seat bolt. The only other option I see is to mount to the side or back of my box which I'm not keen on doing either. Decisions, decisions.....
datacat is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-14-2010, 04:55 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
datacat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 237
 
I received my Metra kit a few days ago and finished my install. It was a lot of work for a first timer. Everything went fairly smooth though from removing dash, installing radio/metra, amp, etc. After much thought, I ended up mounting my amp to the back seat. This was a tough decision, I didn't want it on the box and I wanted to save as much space as I could.

I had a lot of trunk rattle so I stuffed some carpet underpad, underneath the plastic guard on the back of the trunk which seemed to take care of most of the rattle. I read others going through great extent to reduce the trunk rattle but I never heard anyone mention that plastic guard piece. It's what causes all the rattle as it rubs/vibrates on the metal on the rear of the trunk. I zip tied the rear seat latch as well which caused _some_ rattle but that was it.

I'm running (2) 10" 300W MTX subs in a nice ported Bassworx box off a Rockford P300-1. The subs receive about 400W RMS from this amp but honestly, I don't think I would want or need more thump. Very happy with the setup...

I will post pics soon in the member section. Cheers!
datacat is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-16-2010, 06:19 AM
Professional geek
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 433
 
The Monsoon amp is mounted on the right side of the car in the trunk behind the carpet. Depending on the size of the amp and whether you have the Monsoon system already, this location might work for you.

~ MattInSoCal
MattInSoCal is offline  
post #11 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-18-2010, 07:10 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
datacat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 237
 
Well this sucks. Why would my lights be dimming with only 400W RMS? I have nothing else running on the electricial system. They don't flicker completely on/off but they do dim noticeably. I assumed I would be ok with 400W

It's a kick in the ass because I have a cap I was going to use but now I would need to get more wire and run another ground, find a place for the cap, etc.

2005 G6 SE 3.5L V6 LX9

Mods
Audio: Pioneer DEH-P6900UB / Rockford P300-1 / Bassworx GPH210BK / 2x 10" MTX 600W RMS
Appearance: Eagle Eye CCFL Halo Projectors w/ Stealth Bulbs / Oracle 6000K LED Fogs
Painted Tails & Brake Light / Xenon White LED Plate / Front Plate Removed / Debadged
Performance: Doctor Speed CAI / Glasspack Resonator
Coming Soon: Full TINT / GT-R / WAMS / STB

DC's G6 Progression!$#%
datacat is offline  
post #12 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-19-2010, 06:43 PM
Junior Member
 
Jessewk2006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 18
 
I put my amp on the rear deck upside down. I didn't put any spacers/brackets in there to lift if off though. I guess I didn't see it necessary as you wouldn't normally lift the amp off the bottom of ur trunk if you were to mount it on the floor. I put my cap on the backside of the box(box has little lip on the edge just big enough for the cap to mount to. Bought from Ebay). I didn't really have to put any holes in my car besides in the rear deck which will NEVER be noticed by anyone I might sell it too.

2008 G6 GXP Sedan
Dark Metallic Gray

Visual Mods: Rear 25% tint , 35% Front tint, 5% Eyebrow tint and sunroof tint. Badge overlays: Front, steering wheel, G6 door sill

Audio: Head Unit: Pioneer AVH-P4200DVD, (2)Rockford Fosgate P3D212 Punch 12" 500W Subwoofers, Rockford Fosgate T1000-1BDCP 1000W Amp

Misc: Escort Passport 9500ix

Future: HID Head Lights, Tinted Tails, Interior LED's
Jessewk2006 is offline  
post #13 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-21-2010, 12:17 AM
Junior Member
 
XANAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 12
 
I usually mount my amps under the front seat. Power wire and RCAs are expensive. Speaker wire is not.
XANAX is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac G6 Forum > Technical Discussion & Modifications > Car Audio, Video and Security

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac G6 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thermostat Location canetherton General Maintenance 13 03-17-2016 07:53 PM
Fuse Location JCR Car Audio, Video and Security 3 08-24-2009 08:31 AM
Location HoodHicka Members' Rides 0 05-01-2008 10:55 AM
IAT location Explr1 Powertrain Performance Modifications 2 03-19-2008 12:03 PM
Onstar Location SteelerNation Car Audio, Video and Security 7 05-06-2006 09:31 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome