Battery - Pontiac G6 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-12-2010, 08:14 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Adam R's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Peoria, IL
Age: 28
Posts: 99
 
Battery

So I guess my sound system is pulling too much power, so I need to add a second batter. Does anyone know how to add a second battery?

G6 3.5L: White
Mods: Tint 3% back, 35% front, 2 Alpine Type R12, Alpine MRP-M1000 , cobra radar detector, Tinted Tails and 3rd Brake Light, 6000K H.I.D.'s, red interior l.e.d., white l.e.d. grille light, 2 white l.e.d. front bumper painted grille.
Adam R is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-12-2010, 08:20 PM
Senior Member
 
Devriesd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: middle-of-no-where, Alberta
Posts: 292
 
Post Battery

you must have one hell of a sound system! Usually it just means your battery stinks and should be replaced.

But If you insist on a second battery electrically, to hook up a second battery you would just put it in a parallel circuit. That is exactly what you do when get a boost from someone when your battery is dead at the shopping mall. Neg to Neg and Pos to Pos. If your put your battery in series your Car voltage would be 24Volts (aka not good).

The only problem would be finding space to put the second battery.

hope this helps.


Black 2005 Pontiac G6 GT: (SOLD)
Mods: uPAC-GM11B Aux Input, red painted calipers, Black Arrowhead overlays, and CRAB Intakes.
Orange 1971 Ford F-100 Sport Custom:
Completely Stock -302ci
Silver 2010 GMC Sierra GFX edition: (SOLD)
Stock
Granite 2015 Chrysler 200c
Stock
Devriesd is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-12-2010, 09:36 PM
A BANNED TERD
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dyersburg, TN
Posts: 258
 
Do you have a capacitor?? I suggest getting a new battery and buying a capacitor. (only if you dont have one)
hndah8r is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-12-2010, 09:44 PM
Moderator Member Thingy
 
Abyssul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Myrtle Beach, SC
Posts: 1,330
 
Send a message via AIM to Abyssul Send a message via MSN to Abyssul
I could be wrong, but wouldn't two batteries put more strain on the alternator? I agree that you probably need a new battery. I know I do and I have a 1800w amp. My battery dies if I keep the key in for any longer than 20 seconds. NOT GOOD. lol

You could also use a isolator which seems to be the best route. Google this stuff

Last edited by Abyssul; 10-12-2010 at 09:47 PM.
Abyssul is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-13-2010, 12:28 AM
Senior Member
 
Devriesd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: middle-of-no-where, Alberta
Posts: 292
 
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by hndah8r View Post
Do you have a capacitor?? I suggest getting a new battery and buying a capacitor. (only if you dont have one)
umm which capacitor? for the stereo? hooked up where? capacitors only pass AC so if it has to do with the battery that's not going to help. The only capacitor I can think of that you may be talking about could be a AC ground shunt for DC power for the stereo. Confused; enlighten me.

hmm or maybe you meant the flux capacitor that is in that famous time traveling delorian.


Black 2005 Pontiac G6 GT: (SOLD)
Mods: uPAC-GM11B Aux Input, red painted calipers, Black Arrowhead overlays, and CRAB Intakes.
Orange 1971 Ford F-100 Sport Custom:
Completely Stock -302ci
Silver 2010 GMC Sierra GFX edition: (SOLD)
Stock
Granite 2015 Chrysler 200c
Stock
Devriesd is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-22-2010, 06:14 AM
Senior Member
 
ThreePointSix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 158
 
They make capacitors for car stereo systems. It's been debated if they work or not. Most people who do car audio would never be caught with one in their car. If you do it right you don't need anything to help. Just adding another battery won't help because you need more amperage from your alternator. You may just need a stronger battery though. Most people don't need a new alternator with their systems. There is a formula to figure out how much current your amps draw. That, plus having to charge the battery is what you need to have for amperage from your alternator.
ThreePointSix is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-22-2010, 08:53 AM
Senior Member
 
G6-Lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,063
 
I would say its more an alternator problem than a battery problem...

2008 Pontiac Sedan - 3.5 V6


Mods so far:
Sylvania Silverstars, Custom Air Intake with Heat shield , 17' Salsa Rims from FastWheels.ca, Lower Grille Chrome Accents, Windows Visors, Hood Deflector, Debadged, Silver Overlays, Eyelids, Recessed Upper Grille, Tinted Tails, GM Strut Bar

Coming Soon - In Order:
Racingline MMI
Racingline Grounding Kit

Updated: 02/22/2011

Best Auto Insurance | Auto Protection Today | FREE Trade-In Quote
G6-Lover is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac G6 Forum > Technical Discussion & Modifications > Car Audio, Video and Security

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac G6 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
everything is dead after new battery install upsrogue Problems and Solutions 0 05-18-2010 12:33 PM
Battery Draining PKKid Problems and Solutions 15 05-19-2009 07:36 AM
battery issue G6R Problems and Solutions 6 01-26-2009 05:32 PM
Battery size to big G6R Problems and Solutions 3 01-26-2009 04:49 AM
Q- Battery not holding a charge karlG6 G6 Buyer's Guide/General Information 0 10-20-2008 07:18 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome