Any 1 Put that turbo 2 dash kit in the car? please help - Pontiac G6 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-19-2006, 08:37 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 41
 
Any 1 Put that turbo 2 dash kit in the car? please help

i had mine put in the other day now & the only thing that works on it is the (econ info & door open trunk may be icey) but the oil life temp trips & avg speed & estimated gas in the tank dont work

i am going to have to go back so then can fix this did any one else have this problem when they had the metra kit with the lcd on it put in or if you no how to fix this please tell me i tried pushing the rest buttons did not do anything any help would be great thanks

Last edited by SCGA1; 01-19-2006 at 09:05 PM.
ginuwine is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-19-2006, 10:21 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 36
 
I have an idea. Put the stock back in and get a jl audio clean sweep. and power your mids and highs and you subs. if aplicable off of extrenal amps. if that is what you are going for. That is the best solution to the uglyness of aftermarket crap for these cars. When they come out with a kit that looks right and matches then I might go aftermarket with the deck. Just my $.02
disposablehero is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-20-2006, 06:08 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 41
 
why?

all the speakers sound fine runing of my new deck its has xovers & everthing on it its just that dash kits thats not working right
ginuwine is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-22-2006, 11:43 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 4
 
Did anyone find a resolution to the metra dash not working (oil life, etc.)? I have the monsoon system in my G6 and was thinking about changing the head unit come spring. Anyone know how easy it would be to switch from the factory Xm to Sirius? I wondering if I could just swap out the head unit and use the same antenna.
cablestarman is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-23-2006, 04:14 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 41
 
i fixed it disconected the battery now it works fine
ginuwine is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-23-2006, 06:20 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 488
 
really...did you have to reset the indexing windows?

Mike
GTPGuy82 is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-11-2006, 09:20 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 9
 
I've heard some good things about this scosche DIC dash kit (they call it a GM LAN adaptor). There is a pic as well. Trying to find one locally so I can check it out before buying. At any rate, it doesn't appear to be as cheaply made as the metra.

Cost = $200

http://www.scosche.com/scoschesearch.aspx?qString=g6
ryguy76 is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-11-2006, 04:21 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 153
 
Can't find it anywhere, but i called a shop and they said it's like the same thing.. for some reason, companies can't replicate that material that our console is made out of.. and also, i don't know why metra decided not to put their good looking kit into production.. i would have paid 300 for that thing..
thunkele is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-11-2006, 05:03 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 488
 
I hear there are a couple other companies coming out with some kits like this as well.
GTPGuy82 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac G6 Forum > Technical Discussion & Modifications > Car Audio, Video and Security

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac G6 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome