G6 Convertible General Reliability Question - Pontiac G6 Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 08-02-2018, 07:52 PM Thread Starter

G6 Convertible General Reliability Question

Hi Everyone!

I'm new to this forum and am thinking about getting a G6 Hardtop Convertible as my first car (I'm a college student). I appreciate the flexibility of a hardtop to use during varying northeastern seasons and weather conditions, so I think this car is a reasonable mix of functionality, practicality, and fun.

I have read many reviews and threads about the car, both good and bad. Given any G6 Hardtop I buy now would be at least about 10 years old, I wanted to get opinions about how reliable they are at this age and beyond? I don't want to buy one only to have it become a money pit in repair costs. Are parts (especially for the actual hardtop) hard and expensive to find? Basically, do you think this would be a reliable car with reasonable ownership and repair costs?

Thank you for any advice, I appreciate it!

Cheers,
Drew G6
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 08-02-2018, 08:51 PM

As far as I am aware there are no new parts available for the convertible top. If you need something you will have to find it as a used part. ebay, Car breakers, etc will be your likely sources. I have a 2007 convertible and until recently it has been very reliable. I had one of the main hydraulic lift cylinders fail. I found replacements at a local pick your part. long story short I believe having one go bad put additional load on the other and I went through both "spares" in a few weeks. I have sent a pair of them to Top Hydraulics who replace the seals etc. Not too cheap at $200 a piece but worth it to have the top working again. Hopefully I will have some good news once they are returned.