Newbie here...hope you can help me out - Pontiac G6 Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 08-05-2011, 08:02 AM Thread Starter

Newbie here...hope you can help me out

Hi! After our Grand Prix was hit and totaled last year, my folks replaced it with an '06 GTP sedan. It is basically my car, but my Dad may need it from time to time. With that info here is my dilemma. I want that smooth,throaty-growly sound the Grand Prix had, so I researched and decided on the magnaflow mod for the exhaust. Finances keep me at that system. Issue? My family is concerned about getting ticketed for aftermarket exhaust. It's one thing if I get the ticket, but if my Dad gets pulled over, off goes the magnaflow and back to the quiet. I do not have any other attention getters...silver sedan, standard spoiler, no hood scoops etc. So, anyone who's modified, have you gotten a ticket? Can anyone tell me if their magnaflow sounds like the Grand Prix or louder? Mods~please move if this is in the wrong place!
Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 08-05-2011, 08:13 AM

Garage
only would be pulled over if it exceeds decibel levels in your state, county, city, etc.

2006 Pontiac G6 V6 3500L
Crimson Red
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 08-05-2011, 08:25 AM Thread Starter

Thanks ! Our level is 93 I *think*...but legally here in IL, if the aftermarket system is louder than the stock, you are in violation. I would love to do all kids of stuff to my GTP , LOVE the car but am trying not not draw attention of getting the exhaust (it is killing me) The good thing is it is not a moving violation if ticketed, basically $75 ...but so many here have put on aftermarket systems, if anyone can tell me a decibel range they are at? Sorry to sound like an idiot, just really don't want my parents to have to worry about it..and it took me a long time to save up for the system.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 08-05-2011, 09:58 AM