Pontiac G6 Forum banner

2009 g6 gt

1K views 5 replies 4 participants last post by  Convertme 
#1 ·
Hey everyone. My name is Nate Hansen. I live in gentry AR. So I have a mystery g6. I bought it in May. Ran awesome until 2 months ago. Mechanic said fuel pump went out. Ok ya know fine. Ever since it will run for 5-7 days then all of a sudden won't start. It turns over but that's it. Now the next day it fires right up. So folks it's gotten so unreliable that I had to go and put 600 down on a minivan lol. But ya know what at least it's starting. I absolutely do not understand. When I would send it back to my mechanic it would start every dang time. Please someone help. It's a awesome car when it starts.

#3 ·
Why not

Listen to your mechanic? I just went through a fuel pump fix. I could have sworn it was not the fuel pump but in the end it was. My retired father in law and my brother-in-law both mechanics by trade said fuel pump. Took it to gm garage. After swallowing my pride, it runs perfect so far.

#4 ·
Ok. Well maybe I worded it wrong. He did change the pump. That's the problem. 327 dollars worth of fuel pump. But ever since its been driving us crazy. Thursday and Friday would not start. Saturday evening it just fired right on up. Can the tumbler or ignition switch or chip key have anything to do with it I wonder??.

#5 ·
Re Read post # 2, very easy to overlook the harness plug connection to the fuel pump. My brother in law had similar with a GM SUV, was a bad harness connector to the pump. Fuel tank had to come out a second time to fix the problem. Come to find out that it was a common problem for those SUV's.

#6 ·