problem with metra kit - Pontiac G6 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 05-26-2010, 09:29 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: jamestown, ny
Age: 29
Posts: 35
 
problem with metra kit

bought the metra kit for my g6 and the screen would like, scroll and look like it was going to burn out and was very dim....so they sent me another one and its doing the same thing, only now...its shorting out and shutting off the kit and my radio??? if i take out the radio fuse on the side of the console and plug it back it it will work again....any ideas? if it was a short you would think it would pop the fuse?
cmf9040 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 05-26-2010, 11:45 AM
Senior Member
 
Daniel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Algonquin, Illinois
Age: 33
Posts: 916
 
I have the same kit. So at this point its not even function correct?
I would double check all your wiring i know its annoying but its easy to miss something simple.
Daniel is offline  
post #3 of 3 (permalink) Old 05-26-2010, 02:57 PM
Michigan G6er
 
lcplmouw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 217
 
when I first put mine in it did the scrolling and very dim thing you just have to change the contrast and brightness. you have to hold the info and menu buttons at the same time then scroll through the menu until you find contrast. Just like you had to do with the stock radio. Hope that helps.

Pontac G6 Sedan 3.5L
Exterior- 8000k HIDS lows, 8000k HIDs fog lights, 20% window tint, Tinted taillights, painted grilles (top and bottom) to match, Custom painted engine cover and battery box, Red painted calipers.
Performance- Crab Intake, Racing Line Performance strut tower brace, GT-R Custom Magnaflow exhaust.
Interior- red LED's on inside, custom painted interior trim to match outside, Memphis sub and Amp, Custom fiberglass sub enclosure.
lcplmouw is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac G6 Forum > Technical Discussion & Modifications > Product Reviews

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac G6 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem getting the metra 99-3303 to work Timtp2004 Car Audio, Video and Security 7 06-29-2010 10:54 PM
Problem with installing aftermaket Radio and Metro turbo2 kit hmcgary Car Audio, Video and Security 4 01-12-2009 06:21 PM
metra or scorche??????????? monkeynutz Car Audio, Video and Security 5 09-24-2008 06:09 PM
Metra of schose travisb05 Items Wanted 4 08-26-2008 08:32 PM
About to install: Metra Turbo2 TLS2000 Car Audio, Video and Security 7 02-13-2006 09:35 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome