How to add range to remote start - Pontiac G6 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-16-2015, 09:27 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Liam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: St.Catharines, Ontario
Posts: 13
 
How to add range to remote start

Hi everyone, finally registered after using this forum for sometime now to get advice on my car. My adhd doesn't allow me to get past 3 pages so if this topic is already in forum then my apologies. I have a 2006 G6 4 door with 328,000 klm and still pulling strong, looking good, all highway mostly. Anyhow I'm trying to get longer distance for my starter. At my place of work my friends can get their cars to start from change room which is about 550ft away and I can't, pisses me off. I bought 2 new remotes and took to dealer to program because they had me by the balls, guy came out with his mobile programmer and 5 minutes later I'm out 55 bucks. I searched internet and tried everything, no go can't be done myself. I stacked 2 CR2016's to get 6 volts which got me a little closer so now I want to expose the receiver to see if that helps but I can't find it. If I have to place it on top of dash then so be it, not to concerned about looks right now. Anyone have an idea or solution on this? Thanks
Liam is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-18-2015, 11:08 PM
OOBER SUPER MEMBER
 
CruisinG6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4,232
 
I believe it's located behind the rear seat on the deck under the carpet.
It should have an antenna running towards the c pillar on the passenger side

Then again that could be OnStar. I'll have to double check.
Pretty sure the module is called a vcim
CruisinG6 is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-24-2015, 04:10 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 451
 
I have heard that it's behind the rear seat but I don't know for sure.

Also where is the antenna for the remote keyless entry?

The On-Star and the XM radio antennae are located above the front windshield just above the rear view mirror (aka. shark fin antenna).
mrslcom is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-26-2015, 10:52 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Liam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: St.Catharines, Ontario
Posts: 13
 
Well I found it, hard part was putting the fenders, wheels, engine, doors back on, jk lol, it was under the back dash like CruisinG6 said. Now the interesting part, the antenna is in the black box shown in pic. My electronics friend told me to drill a hole in it and screw on a copper wire, the longer the wire the better the reception plus avoid contact with body to avoid grounding it. With a dremel tool I cut holes into dash to mimic factory installation only on top for more reception. Using two way tape I ran it up the window, keep in mind at this point looks is not my concern, its about distance and WOW! un****ing believable, I was getting approximately 190ft and now up to approx 380 ft, an impressive gain. I'll eventually take it apart to add longer wire and creatively attach it. I wouldn't waste my time posting this if it didn't work, it works extremely well and recommend it if that's what your after.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20150625_095142.jpg
Views:	242
Size:	103.2 KB
ID:	10522   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20150625_203005.jpg
Views:	222
Size:	104.0 KB
ID:	10530   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20150625_203148.jpg
Views:	220
Size:	104.0 KB
ID:	10538   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20150625_211142.jpg
Views:	229
Size:	100.8 KB
ID:	10546   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20150625_211245.jpg
Views:	235
Size:	104.7 KB
ID:	10554  

Liam is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-27-2015, 03:19 AM
OOBER SUPER MEMBER
 
CruisinG6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4,232
 
You pulled all those parts?

Is it really just that little black box?? I was wondering what that was when I did my speakers haha.
I guess the other module I found was the OnStar one.

Seeing as that's all it takes I think I'll be adding an antenna to mine. Would love the range upgrade.
Good find thanks for posting!!
CruisinG6 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac G6 Forum > Technical Discussion & Modifications > HOW-TO

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac G6 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Remote start question regarding false start up festy1986 Problems and Solutions 3 06-24-2014 03:25 PM
Remote Starter add-on paroyboy G6 Buyer's Guide/General Information 78 05-04-2012 06:13 PM
Aftermarkert remote start or Add stock jculter Car Audio, Video and Security 2 04-14-2010 07:06 PM
need to add factory remote start nhying Problems and Solutions 2 02-15-2008 05:20 PM
What's the range on these remote starters? InSearchOf G6 Buyer's Guide/General Information 3 08-28-2005 01:19 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome