low beam not working (pt. 2 of 2) - Pontiac G6 Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 12-07-2018, 10:43 AM Thread Starter

low beam not working (pt. 2 of 2)

Hereís where I phone a friend/family member. I had to pull out the multimeter and test each socket to see if power is getting to the light unit. Since I donít know the specific voltage each light unit is supposed to get, I mirrored/matched each voltage from the passenger side against the driver side. Here is an image/paint Iíd sketched together for yaíll. I am not an electrician and I hate testing wires. Also, here is a wire color to letter diagram (your colors may vary).
Passenger Light Wire Harness
A-BLACK
B-TAN w/white stripe
C-GREEN w/white stripe
D-BLUE w/white stripe
E-PURPLE

Driver Light Wire Harness
A-BLACK
B-YELLOW
C-GREEN
D- BLUE w/white stripe
E-PURPLE
With both light units/assemblies removed (driver and passenger side), I turned on the lights, and tested each male pigtail on the passenger side, and then tested the driver side, and wrote down my results for each wire. Boom. Found the bad wire, and wouldnít you know, itís the same exact wire that delivers power to my driver side low beam. Now that I know this, I would have to trace that wire back to the fuse box and look at it. but that requires removing the fuse box and pulling out other things that I did not want to do. The last thing I need, is to cause more damage to wires.
But wait. What if the wire isnít the problem? Maybe itís the actual male pigtail connector. This would mean, I would have to remove the pigtail head connector, and replace it. (there another forum I read here that a gentleman does a really nice description on how to replace it, but that required soldering. Not looking to spend money on equipment and, as mentioned, I didnít have that time).