Pontiac G6 Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I tried to install a different system into my 06 Pontiac g6 gt.
I am having a very difficult time getting it to work properly, there was a system in it before but had to replace it due to someone stealing my faceplate. I installed a double din stereo, along with a compasitor 2 amps and subwoofers into my ford f150 and thought this would be no different, I was very wrong. Long story short after I hooked everything up I had no bass so I rewired it and placed my power antenna wire onto the red wire which was supposed to be ignition switch and now I have no stereo at all. I'm new to doing this and i like to try do things myself before i take them to a professional, I do have the money to get it installed but i like to learn/try do things myself before anything. Thanks.

·
Registered
347 Posts
Very much guesswork on my part as I do not have much experience in this area, but I would check if the bass cones are moving. If they are I would suspect a polarity mismatch (one driver pushing whilst the other is pulling will dampen the bass). If the cones are not moving then I would suspect a connectivity issue and try a multi-meter to check. If the original stereo was a monsoon system there is a separate power amp that you may need to factor in in terms of bypassing or re-using.

Hope you get if fixed and maybe some others with more experience replacing the G6 stereo will jump in.

·
Registered
36 Posts
Monsoon factory system? Most likely if it is a GT Coupe. I contacted Axxess and ask them what I needed specifically for my `08 GT Coupe. They responded very quickly and said I need these two parts - part numbers:

1. Wiring Harness - Axxess XSVI-2103-NAV `04-`08
2. Steering Wheel Controller - AXXESS ASWC-1 (Universal)

You will lose your Driver Information Center (DIC) and this is just for bypassing the amplified Monsoon system.