Pontiac G6 Forum banner

121 - 140 of 169 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
27 Posts
Yeah you definitely could swap it, the clusters are plug in play so you’ll have no issues there. For the street if wheel if you find the stuff for it all the wires should be there.

Holy crap! I can't believe someone made this so recently! I've been looking for something to help me with this, I want to get a double din head unit with Apple Car-Play/Android-Auto, but I also want to keep the integrated DIC interface. Could I somehow manage to swap the instrument cluster from a 2010, to my 2007, so I can retain all the stock features, while also using an aftermarket radio?
Btw, I don't have any steering wheel control buttons, I'm working on figuring out how to wire ones up if I do get a steering wheel that has one.
Any idea if I would need to change car milage or something? Or are the 2 clusters plug-n-play?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
19 Posts
Yeah you definitely could swap it, the clusters are plug in play so you’ll have no issues there. For the street if wheel if you find the stuff for it all the wires should be there.
Well, after doing some research of mine, I found that most value leader cars don't have all the wires for it, I only have 2 wires that's for the horn, and some for the airbag. Here's the original thread:
https://www.g6ownersclub.com/forum/18-appearance-modifications-lighting/4875-steering-wheel-upgrade.html
But apart from that, do I need to reset anything on the new cluster once I buy it? (i.e. oil life, milage, trip... Or is that all plug and play? I'm assuming if it is, then the trip, oil life, and everything else, is stored somewhere else on the system, and the DIC is just the interface to access that info.)
I'm not to worried about the buttons just yet (I think I've found a way to do it, just need some time and money), I first want to know if the cluster's are fully plug and play and don't need any reprogramming of any kind. My G6 has no factory keyless entry, cruise control (except for an off brand model), no xm, nothing. So my current DIC doesn't have all the options you would have in most different G6's (i.e. when the car gets locked, if the headlights flash, will the horn beep... stuff like that). So I'm hoping this doesn't change anything, I'm planning on getting an aftermarket radio (preferably a double-din head-unit with all that new tech stuff, but I think I already talked about that).

Really hope I can do this one day! (I'm only 16, this is my first car, and I NEED a job, so this is all just an assurance for future-me who might attempt this project one day).
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
27 Posts
Yep it’s fully plug and play, everything transfers over. Your mileage will not change.

Yeah you definitely could swap it, the clusters are plug in play so you’ll have no issues there. For the street if wheel if you find the stuff for it all the wires should be there.
Well, after doing some research of mine, I found that most value leader cars don't have all the wires for it, I only have 2 wires that's for the horn, and some for the airbag. Here's the original thread:
https://www.g6ownersclub.com/forum/18-appearance-modifications-lighting/4875-steering-wheel-upgrade.html
But apart from that, do I need to reset anything on the new cluster once I buy it? (i.e. oil life, milage, trip... Or is that all plug and play? I'm assuming if it is, then the trip, oil life, and everything else, is stored somewhere else on the system, and the DIC is just the interface to access that info.)
I'm not to worried about the buttons just yet (I think I've found a way to do it, just need some time and money), I first want to know if the cluster's are fully plug and play and don't need any reprogramming of any kind. My G6 has no factory keyless entry, cruise control (except for an off brand model), no xm, nothing. So my current DIC doesn't have all the options you would have in most different G6's (i.e. when the car gets locked, if the headlights flash, will the horn beep... stuff like that). So I'm hoping this doesn't change anything, I'm planning on getting an aftermarket radio (preferably a double-din head-unit with all that new tech stuff, but I think I already talked about that).

Really hope I can do this one day! (I'm only 16, this is my first car, and I NEED a job, so this is all just an assurance for future-me who might attempt this project one day).
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
19 Posts
Yep it’s fully plug and play, everything transfers over. Your mileage will not change.
Ok that's perfect!! Thanks so much!! And what about the buttons for the DIC, would I need to relocate them somewhere else? If I replaced the current radio with a double din, I would need somewhere to put the, info, enter, and menu buttons, right?
You've been an amazing help btw!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
27 Posts
Well we may have to get a little creative with that one. That all depends on what connectors you have behind your air bag. I know you have the value wheel without any buttons, but it’s possible that the body harness that goes to the wheel has a good chunk of the wires already there. I know with my g6, it did not come with the audio controls, however the main harness that went to my steering wheel had the wires for it, so when I replaced the wire harness within the steering wheel I was able to add them. With that in mind, I think it would be safe to assume the when they made the car, gm used one general wire harness across all g6/Malibu/aura vehicles, and then just had little additions they added to that harness in order to add the options. Assuming this, I think that not only can we add the dic buttons, but we also might be able to unlock the cruise control(this might need programmed by a dealer) and steering wheel control options. If your looking to tackle this head on, you can send me a private message and I will be willing to help out more. And if for some reason gm did not use the same harness across all models, I can walk you through how to at least get your dic buttons to function.

Yep it’s fully plug and play, everything transfers over. Your mileage will not change.
Ok that's perfect!! Thanks so much!! And what about the buttons for the DIC, would I need to relocate them somewhere else? If I replaced the current radio with a double din, I would need somewhere to put the, info, enter, and menu buttons, right?
You've been an amazing help btw!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
27 Posts
My whole thought around the harness already having the dic wires comes from this. When I installed my 2010 cluster I still had my factory radio installed. And if I used the info/menu buttons on the radio, it would also toggle the settings on the cluster. So that tells me that that system is connected through the data wire, which travels to most everything on the car. That also explains how adding the 2010 radio adds the warning chimes back to the car.

Well we may have to get a little creative with that one. That all depends on what connectors you have behind your air bag. I know you have the value wheel without any buttons, but it’s possible that the body harness that goes to the wheel has a good chunk of the wires already there. I know with my g6, it did not come with the audio controls, however the main harness that went to my steering wheel had the wires for it, so when I replaced the wire harness within the steering wheel I was able to add them. With that in mind, I think it would be safe to assume the when they made the car, gm used one general wire harness across all g6/Malibu/aura vehicles, and then just had little additions they added to that harness in order to add the options. Assuming this, I think that not only can we add the dic buttons, but we also might be able to unlock the cruise control(this might need programmed by a dealer) and steering wheel control options. If your looking to tackle this head on, you can send me a private message and I will be willing to help out more. And if for some reason gm did not use the same harness across all models, I can walk you through how to at least get your dic buttons to function.

Yep it’s fully plug and play, everything transfers over. Your mileage will not change.
Ok that's perfect!! Thanks so much!! And what about the buttons for the DIC, would I need to relocate them somewhere else? If I replaced the current radio with a double din, I would need somewhere to put the, info, enter, and menu buttons, right?
You've been an amazing help btw!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
19 Posts
No problem! Glad its helping people out!
I'm also really grateful you posted this! I just have one small issue... None of the images are there, as in... NONE of them, they all say:
Photo not found
CLICK FOR PHOTOS
with a cat meowing in the background. Not sure what's happening, but I've tried on different browsers, and nothing's worked. I'm not sure how one would go on fixing this issue. But it would really save me a bunch of hassle if you could somehow get those photos out on this thread. Thanks!
 

·
2007 gt retractable
Joined
·
355 Posts
I'm also really grateful you posted this! I just have one small issue... None of the images are there, as in... NONE of them, they all say:
Photo not found
CLICK FOR PHOTOS
with a cat meowing in the background. Not sure what's happening, but I've tried on different browsers, and nothing's worked. I'm not sure how one would go on fixing this issue. But it would really save me a bunch of hassle if you could somehow get those photos out on this thread. Thanks!
cruising apparently quit paying for the photo storage when he left the forum.they have been gone for a while.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
27 Posts
I’m in the process of purchasing another g6. With that I’m going to have to do the swap again. Since this thread is starting to get decently active again I will record my entire process, along with any other changes I do to the g6. I will make sure to link the video of the full install here.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Great job on showing everyone how to do this install.
I did the swap on my Daughters 2009 a couple of years ago using the photos and write up.

You Video is much easier to follow and shows how small the pins are that you have to remove and install.

This Video will help a large number of people who want to do this swap but just need a little direction on how to do it.

Once again Great Job :)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
19 Posts
Does anyone know the torque spec, or the bolt holding the steering wheel to the steering column? I don't have a clue on what it might be.
thanks!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10 Posts
I just did the swap and love the results. Has anyone tried replacing the LEDs to get the red back? That's the one thing I hate.. I also have an extra set of 2010 gauges if anyone is still looking!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
27 Posts
I just did the swap and love the results. Has anyone tried replacing the LEDs to get the red back? That's the one thing I hate.. I also have an extra set of 2010 gauges if anyone is still looking!
There is a gauge cluster for 2010 that has the red numbers.(see attached) but you definitely can change out the leds it’s just a pain.
 

Attachments

121 - 140 of 169 Posts
Top