Pontiac G6 Forum banner

101 - 116 of 116 Posts

·
Legend
Joined
·
782 Posts
Will the factory radio still work once you install this kit?
If your talking about the kit from the first post that I just installed then yes. It has a switch when its on will override the antenna to play the aux and when the switch is off plays the normal radio just fine.

Sent from my Desire HD using AutoGuide.Com Free App
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9 Posts
OK, Connecting an input to the XM connector did not work but I bought the ISGM533 and just plugged it in and it works, no programming or any other BS. Let me know if anyone has any questions about it. It's highly recommended.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
OK, Connecting an input to the XM connector did not work but I bought the ISGM533 and just plugged it in and it works, no programming or any other BS. Let me know if anyone has any questions about it. It's highly recommended.
So you just plugged it into the XM port on the back of the radio and it just worked? ****ing sweet!

Now I just need to find a good guide for pulling my radio/dash apart. I hope it's not too painful.
 

·
Legend
Joined
·
782 Posts
So you just plugged it into the XM port on the back of the radio and it just worked? ****ing sweet!

Now I just need to find a good guide for pulling my radio/dash apart. I hope it's not too painful.
theres a how-to for it in the how to section. but its actually not too bad. couple screws out of the top and bottom of the glove box. couple screws out from under the steering column and bust that bit** out lol.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9 Posts
So you just plugged it into the XM port on the back of the radio and it just worked?
Yes, but you also have to unplug the 24 pin connector and put the harness inline as well as plugging in the XM connector. I can't find the link that I used but it had pictures of every step to pull the dash panels. It was very easy. Basically to pull the center console you have to pull the side panels first. The passenger side requires removal of the glove box. You'll waste more time reading the instructions than doing it. You can find the unit anywhere for $80.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
Yes, but you also have to unplug the 24 pin connector and put the harness inline as well as plugging in the XM connector. I can't find the link that I used but it had pictures of every step to pull the dash panels. It was very easy. Basically to pull the center console you have to pull the side panels first. The passenger side requires removal of the glove box. You'll waste more time reading the instructions than doing it. You can find the unit anywhere for $80.
Found it for $70 on amazing when searching for the product serial number only, hah.

Got it, installed it, works perfectly. I don't have a XM module, so the cord to the XM module is just open right now. When I hit band, I still get an XM option, but then it'll move to Aux as well. There's a slight hiss on the aux-in that will be overpowered by the idling engine or EASILY by road noise, so I'm not to concerned about that. I'm just happy about CD quality audio going into my radio.

So the unit here will definitely work with absolutely no programming required on the Monsoon 6 CD changer with or without XM. Buy with confidence!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
16 Posts
Hi All,

I'm going to pirate and combine what's been written by X44+ regarding splicing into the XM wires and what I read on an Avalanche form where someone did something similar. The only difference is the type of Radio Shack connector. RS makes a 1/8" audio plug that has 5 connections and is made for just this. Basically when something is not plugged in, it passes the signal through from the XM unit to the radio, when you plug your jack in, it takes input from the jack and passes it through to the radio. It costs $2.70 and is part number 274-246. The guy on the Avalanche form had a nice little picture to explain it. The only difference in the wiring colors is the common/ground. On his year Avalanche the common is black/white, according to X44+ on a 2007 it's Tan, so make the correct substitution. I haven't tried this yet but I plan to once it gets warmer and I can get my racecar out of the garage and the G6 in. Here's the diagram:

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/142/diagram1sm0.jpg/
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
16 Posts
Hey all,

I just got my iSimple ISGM533. I plug it in and the radio won’t work at all. All the connectors plug in and are fully seated but the radio won’t turn on. If I hit the “Display” button I get the time but then the radio goes blank again. I can’t get info or any of the other functions.

According to the iSimple site they list a kit ISGM573 as being for our radios. I can’t find the ISGM533 on their site.

If I unplug the iSimple wiring and go back to factory configuration the radio works fine I’ve tried it a few times but I can’t seem to get the iSimple to allow the radio to work. The display is just blank.

Being Labor day I won’t be able to get in touch with iSimple until Tuesday. Hoping that maybe someone the on the board’s got an idea why this darn thing isn’t working. The instructions are basically non-existant. They tell you to go to their website but all the “installation manuals” are coming soon.

I don’t know if it matters but mine’s a 2007 G6 GT Hardtop convertible. It’s got the Monsoon system.

Any help would be appreciated.
Art.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
16 Posts
Yeah, I had to connect the pink wires. I went to the iSimple website to look for installation documentation, not the PAC website. Once I plugged it in it works. it's a little lower volume than I would have liked, I was hoping the iSimple unit would do a little amplification. not sure if it'll be loud enough with the top down and flying down the highway. Have to try it out tonight on way home.

Thanks for the help.
Art.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
I have a dilema.

I am very electronically inept but want to have DIC in my stock 2007 G6 head unit. I was under the impression that there was a device for about $100 that plugs into the back of the HU that allows DIC. I've tried to get my answer by reading through the thread (I know how lame repeat questions can be) but it seems like most people have different HUs than I do or went the route of the FM modulator.

I already have a HU that was in my Cougar that has an AUX input and I'm really tempted to go that route, but I don't want to lose all the nice info the stock HU provides.

Can someone confirm or deny that something like this will be relatively easy to instal and also work? Lol.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/like/310773696492?lpid=82
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
13 Posts
I installed a 2009 factory radio in my 07 because I wanted the 2 line display and the AUX in. 6 disc changer is just an added bonus.

I have a Tech2 so I just reprogrammed the radio after for the VIN, but if you get a good deal on the radio this is a pretty cheap and clean way to get AUX
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
16 Posts
I have a dilema.

I am very electronically inept but want to have DIC in my stock 2007 G6 head unit. I was under the impression that there was a device for about $100 that plugs into the back of the HU that allows DIC. I've tried to get my answer by reading through the thread (I know how lame repeat questions can be) but it seems like most people have different HUs than I do or went the route of the FM modulator.

I already have a HU that was in my Cougar that has an AUX input and I'm really tempted to go that route, but I don't want to lose all the nice info the stock HU provides.

Can someone confirm or deny that something like this will be relatively easy to instal and also work? Lol.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/like/310773696492?lpid=82
I installed one of these in my 2007 GT. Removing the dash is harder than the actual installation of this unit. Before you button the dash back up, make sure it works. I had to plug one of the jumper wires in to make it work with my radio. Called customer service and it was working in 5 minutes. One thing I will tell you, the XM unit must put out a more amplified signal than the FM or CD. I ended up installing a Velleman 10 Watt mini amplifier between the MP3 port and the iSimple unit. Without it I had to really crank the amplifier to hear my iPod. Mine's a convertible so with the top down I had the radio on max and it was still not loud enough. With the in-line amplifier and my iPod at about 80% the sound level is fine. If I had to do it again I would save a lot of money and install the $5 Radio Shack port I mentioned a few posts above.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
52 Posts
AUX in Blu-Tooth

I 'am looking for a Bluetooth AUX in adaptor so I can use my iPhone / iPod for music and Phone. Anybody know of this kind of adaptor ? Thanks Jeff :confused:
 
101 - 116 of 116 Posts
Top