Pontiac G6 Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been doing my own brake jobs for about 50 years. My work provides good results and, thanks to forums such as this and other sources on the web, I feel I have learned the ins and outs of this particular maintenance job. I am no expert though, particularly when it comes to choosing brake parts from multiple offerings. Take rotors, for example. I want OE plain rotors, no slots, no drills. Even OE plain are offered in a myriad of prices and manufacturers. Typically the price range from the cheapest to most expensive is significant. Other than simply saying more expensive is better, how do I choose a rotor or even brake pads? Some cast iron used in rotors is better than others but offerings do not describe the quality of cast iron. I would appreciate advice about how to select a suitable rotor from many on offer. I am simply a daily driver looking for reliability and longevity.

·
Registered
343 Posts
I went with the ACDelco rotor replacements. The price seemed reasonable and I have been happy with them. I generally use RockAuto and double check Amazon as they sometimes come out better with shipping. For pads I generally pick the Akebono ceramics. They seem to have a good bite without too much dust or noise.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks, boomer. Any recommendation from an experienced user is valuable. I too favour Rock Auto for most of my purchases on line. They offer an excellent selection at seemigly reasonable prices. However, it is that very fact that can be confusing. AC Delco is a good brand but why? Is their grade of cast iron better than an identical product at half the price? If it is, surely there are grades of cast iron, quantifiable numbers of some kind, that would help make a choice. It is that lack of quantifiable comparables that makes choice difficult.