Pontiac G6 Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
` Colleen =)
123 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys!! I've heard everyone talk about using a clay bar. I've never used it before, so I read up on it. It seems really awesome!! Has anyone used it? and is it really that awesome??

·
` Colleen =)
123 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks guys!! I may try it! I have a lot of little scratches in my car, but im sure that wont do anything. I guess i'll have to get them buffed out.

·
Love my commute!
144 Posts
The clay bar is an abrasive. Think of it as super-ultra fine sandpaper. It will remove all surface contaminants from your paint, leaving you a pristine surface for your polishing/last step product. Use PLENTY of lubricant and you'll be left with a paint surface smooth as a baby's behind.

·
Registered
20 Posts
i claybar'ed and meguires 3 staged my car last summer, it took about 5 hours using a buffer, but the result was flawless, the clay bar works wonders, you can hear it pulling debris off the paint as u use it.

Attachments

·
` Colleen =)
123 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
I'll have to get one, and do it when the weather is nicer, and when i have a whole sunday to devote to it! haha! thanks everyone!!

·
Love my commute!
144 Posts
Just remember...if you drop it discard it. It will be contaminated with grit and dirt that you won't want to rub on your paint.

When the clay becomes darker it has removed too many contaminants. You can then, however, use it on windows (fantastic bug remover).

·
Slick Black Pontiac
151 Posts
Just did Clay Bar.