Pontiac G6 Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok well I'm not gunna lie I'm still pretty new at modding my car, i mean i do know some things self taught mostly but i still like to learn few more things and how things work on a car. So I am proposing a question to any who can answer me. Before my G6 i owned a 04 GP GT, and I had put a performance exhaust and dp on it, supposedly adding close to 30hp maybe? but anyway my mechanic was talking to me when he was putting on some parts for regular maintenance and of course noticed i had put an exhaust on it. First of all this guy can work miracles with cars only wish i knew a fraction of what he knew. Anyway he explained to me that just putting an exhaust doesnt add any power to the car, only upgrading the components in the engine will. I mean it kinda makes since to me and i trust his opinion. but the manufactures of the exhaust say otherwise on their website. So my question is can anyone explain to me how adding a exhaust adds power or if it does at all. thanks alot.

·
o6g6 gottastart somewhere
45 Posts
whats up first off im not going to act like i know everything about cars, ive been around cars and trucks all my life... stock, performance,drag cars all that kinda stuff.
but to hopefully help you in your question....
exhaust does add a little performance to your car (not much) but it does.
the factory exhaust uses restrictive mufflers that cause loss of horse power the factory muffler is designed to give you quiet ride.
think of it this way as i was always told
you take your car and put less restrictive exhaust on it and a cold air intake it will let the car breath easier
which in turn will improve throttle response and a little getty up and go like i said (not much)
the more air you can get in and the more exhaust you can get out improves the car.