Pontiac G6 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
107 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys,

I know new members are supposed to introduce themselves in the new members forum but I have a bunch of questions too so I figured I'd cut to the chase and make this my intro as well.

As of right now I plan on purchasing a GTP Sedan in a few weeks when I get home from a business "trip" I'm on. It will be my first car purchase ever (I'm 22).

I've test driven the car and done a lot of research online. I've been sold on the car since the test drive but some recent research I've been doing has me second-guessing myself lately.

First off, I'll say I'm not a car expert, so that may explain some of my questions.

I've been reading that the engine for the G6 is a pushrod which is apparently ancient technology. Does this really affect the quality/lifespan of the engine or is it more of an efficiency issue in terms of gas and power?

The reviews like to put down the 4 speed transmission as well. Is there any kind of mechanical problem with that or is it more of a performance issue? I know one review stated that despite the 4 speed transmission the G6 handles the gears better than some of it's competitors 5 speeds and is still a refined transmission. On the test drive I took I didn't notice any problems with the transmission (not that I'm an expert or anything). I took it in stop and go city traffic as well as out on the interstate.

I'm a little concerned with it being a GM car as well. Not so much from the quality standpoint, but from a "support" standpoint. I know GM is having all kinds of problems right now with turning a profit and wonder if there's anyway that may have some kind of negative impact in the future. I'm also somewhat concerned about the quality of the car as well. I want to basically have the choice of keeping the car vs. getting a new one 7 years down the line vs. it making the decision for me by falling apart.