Pontiac G6 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So as skeptical as I am, the GTP coupe is still #1 on my list for what car to buy come May this year. However, I'm not sure whether to purchase a manual or auto. I've only driven a manual for about a total of 45 minutes in my life, so I basically have 0 experience with them. On one hand, I really want the manual because of the 6 speeds versus the auto's 4, and since I'm a spirited driver, it should be more fun. However, I have some worries about the manual:

1) Will stop and go traffic (which I encounter fairly often) be a huge pain with a manual?

2) Will my inexperience cause me to ruin a brand new car?

3) Will the manual be difficult in the snow/ice/hills?

4) It doesn't sound like the G6's 6 speed is the slickest gearbox around, is it really that bad?

On the flipside, if I were to go with the auto, will I take much of a performance hit?

Any advice you can give me would be helpful in making a decision. Thanks!

·
Registered
268 Posts
I have a few things in common with you.
This was my first manual car, and slowly but surly I’m getting smother and smother.

I also drive in stop and go traffic, witch was annoying at first but now I don’t even notice it.

My tranny has the gear grinding and stiffness which it’s now been to the dealer 3 times for this last time they said there is nothing they can do since they've already replaced the tranny. I don’t buy that and now I’m just going to sit back and wait for the TSB because this isn’t simply "normal ware"

But even with these issues I still stand by my decision over the auto.

·
Registered
142 Posts
1. Not once you get used to it, had one when I lived in Florida

2. Not unless your really REALLY bad... give it about 4 days and you'll gradually get better from there.