Pontiac G6 Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My 6's previous owner did not really take care of it much if at all. It has some scratches, scuffs, and dents, sadly... :(

I have read many posts in this section as I am totally new to car cleaning and detailing. I have seen many conflicting ideas and I would like to sort out some of my confusion. A step by step solution to some or all of my problems would be great!

Side note: I live in Calgary, Canada and local bylaws prohibit use of soaps while cleaning. This could pose a challenge while doing an initial cleaning. I was thinking I could clean the car at a wand car wash, using a microfiber/Absorber (One of my confusions) to dry the car before driving it home to confront the imperfections.

Front Bumper:

I doubt there is much I can do about this due to the fact that it is made from plastic. Luckily, it
is low enough that nobody really notices it except for me.

Driver's Door Handle:

I do not believe the previous owner knew how to get into a car without scratching it... Her nail
marks like to collect dirt and look horrible! This is my number one issue right now. I would be
happy if this was the only thing I fixed.

Above Drivers Door Handle:

Lovely little dent above the handle that I must look at every time I enter the car. This most likely
needs professional body work (Little expensive on my budget...) but I have also seen people talk
about the "dent doctor"? :confused: If anybody has used this on small dents, I would be thankful if you
could share your experience.

Miscellaneous scratches:

Finally a scratch dent combo:

The dent is in the top right hand corner of the picture

Other than these scratches, there are a handful of scuffs in random places around the car. I do however believe these can be removed with a claybar. I am also on a tight budget so I would like to keep the cost low.