Pontiac G6 Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
2007 G6 3.5L, Manual Climate Control, 48,000 trouble free miles (until now)

Problem: No heat for the first 10 to 15 minutes of driving. Temp gauge rises as usual so the heat is there, just not getting any. Once the heat does make it into the cabin, it's HOT. I noticed this evening that the heat comes and goes as I drive. I can also do the remote start and after 10 minutes of sitting idle, still no heat. By no heat, I mean none, zero, zilch, pure cold air :(.

The fan works in all positions and all of the functions to change the direction of air work fine.

Any suggestions on what the problem is would be appreciated.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Although I'm not a mechanic, from my past experience a thermostat problem with no heat would show up in the temp gauge not moving much (thermo stuck open). The temp gauge rises as normal, reaches about 200 deg then stays there for the most part.

A thermostat stuck closed would cause the problem of overheating, and I would estimate heat in the cabin rather quickly. Nothing smells hot and the temp gauge stays right where it's suppose to.

That said, maybe newer cars operate differently that what I'm used to working on.

·
Premium Member
566 Posts
Check your coolant level. Sounds weird right, but on my old Lumina I had a problem with not getting warm air and it turned out that my coolant was bone dry.

·
Lifetime Member
3,269 Posts
Check your coolant level. Sounds weird right, but on my old Lumina I had a problem with not getting warm air and it turned out that my coolant was bone dry.
BUMP!

Low coolant level means fluid isn't making it to the heater coils until you raise the RPMs.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Update!