Pontiac G6 Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alright. I have been fighting this for 2 or 3 months. After driving I get a no start no crank and con not hear the fuel pump kick over. Few hours after sitting, tirn the key and I can hear the fuel pump prime up and bam, it cranks right up. Ive replaced battery, starter, fuses and relays. I can turn the key to crank and nothing happens. I have a manual start momentary relay I can use to crank while standing at the fuse box. I press it and the car will turn over but no start when the key will not spin the motor over. I do not have any codes. Any ideas ?

·
Registered
5 Posts
When your catalyic converter gets hot it makes your starter ground out. Wrap the converter with a heat resistant sheath or what not and it should reduce the heat outward .

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
That maybe the issue for the g6 gt v6 models, but the starter on the 2.4 LE9 is on the intake side of the engine and the cat is on the back side. But the oil pressure sensor was leaking oil onto the starter so just to be sure I replaced starter assembly and oil sensor to stop the leak. No change.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Bumping this thread. Still continuing samething. Thinking about replacing the BCM. Could I use a used one of around the same year model and just see if it solves my issue or would unhooking mine cause any issues. You see what I'm trying to do lol

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Come on guys and gals
...... All the knowledge in this site and I need some of it. Battling this for a year now. I've replaced so much on this car over the time I've had it that I have a new g6 basically with the exception of it having 278,*** miles on it. Getting rid off it is not an option I'm willing to do bc I'm so knowledgeable in this era of gm's platform and the 4 cyl ecotecs engines. Anyone ????

·
Registered
110 Posts