Pontiac G6 Forum banner

Payments and Earnings

6K views 37 replies 18 participants last post by  MP2 
MP2 said:
I didn't attend college* so I didn't have student loans to pay for. I was able to comfortably make a $10,000 down payment and finance for 4 years @ $360 per month. My income is just over $30K

*note to you youngsters, go to college! :)
Oh man we are like in the same boat except I went to college. I graduated less than a year ago though and plan on making much more either through raises or a new job in the next year or two. Like same payments and everything.

I put 12 grand down and am paying the rest off over 4 years. My payments are somewhere around $320 a month. If you live with the rents you can easily afford one depending on how much you put down. If you live on your own maybe not, it all depends.

The real killer is the insurance. I pay insurance every 3 months. Car insurance payment month is absolutely killer when you combine it with the car payment, student loans, and misc. other bills I pay.

Don't forget to factor in insurance to how much you can afford. I'm paying over 2k a year with no tickets and one accident that was my fault over 5 years ago (so I don't think it counts anymore).

*Edit: I don't regret my purchase at all, but looking back on things the "smart" thing to do would be to have just bought a used car outright for the money I put down on my G6. Problem was there are very few cars out there I can afford, that I like, with decent mileage on them.

I would suggest saving up and making a big fat down payment on the car, that will help your montly payments so much. Because I was putting down approx. half the cost I was also able to get the lowest rate possible for financing despite my lack of credit history.

GTPGuy82 said:
damn if I was making 52K I'd be driving something a lot more upscale than a G6...I went to college...still looking for work in my field.

1) A little over $24K
2) $287/month (smartbuy)
3) $21K