Pontiac G6 Forum banner

Polishing question

6K views 11 replies 7 participants last post by  G6GTConvertable 
#1 ·
I have a 2006 G6 GTP - everything is stock.

G6 Wheels

G6 exhaust

My question is what finish are the wheels? (18" 5 spoke) - alloy wheels? Will polishing them bring out a shine?

The muffler tips - those are aluminum right? Polishing those will brighten them, correct?

I ask this because I just got the Meguiar's DynaCone and want to make use of it ASAP! :)

This post has been deleted
#5 ·
I concur with the Perfessor. Never Dull is inexpensive & works well on chrome. Just a touch of wax should maintain the shine until the road deposits make it necessary to clean/polish it again. I detail cars for a living. I can also entertain detailing questions at no charge. The majority of my products are Meguiar's but, am experimenting with new products all the time. Did you like the DynaCone?

#8 ·
CLEAN then CONDITION a black leather steering wheel...

Posted by: G6GTConvertable
On: 08-01-2014 09:38 AM

Oracle, what do you use to CLEAN then CONDITION a black leather steering wheel??
I know you have to be careful with color fading.
Thanks!
Personally, I don't favor using Armour-All on ANYTHING. The shiny residue left behind not only bakes in the sun but, also leaves the surface slick (not good to have a steering wheel you cannot hold onto).

I use a product by Lexol called Vinylex. It cleans AND conditions in one application. It doesn't leave a greasy, slick residue & the sun doesn't bake it into the surface it is used on. I have had amazing results on vinyl tops & tires alike. With proper usage, it lasts for weeks before another application may be needed. Great product & it doesn't co$t a fortune.

Good question.

#10 · (Edited)
Personally, I don't favor using Armour-All on ANYTHING. The shiny residue left behind not only bakes in the sun but, also leaves the surface slick (not good to have a steering wheel you cannot hold onto).