Pontiac G6 Forum banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My car lost power when I stopped at a stop sign. I was able to jump it and made it to my workplace before it died which was less than a mile away. I’m not a mechanic but I know that alternator and the battery play a part with the power. Long story short I replaced first the alternator, problem still there. The next day I bought a new battery and I was able to drive home that night and back to work the next morning but it quit on my way home. The battery was new and the volt meter said something like 8.02 or something. I am only assuming then that the alternator can’t keep up with something draining the battery or the alternator was faulty. Are there any other possibilities that I need to check that might remedy this. Any ideas would be appreciated. Please keep in mind as I said I’m no mechanic so please don’t be frustrated that you’ll have to explain it to me simply in order for me to understand. Thank you

·
Registered
2006 G6 GTP F40
168 Posts