Pontiac G6 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Perfessor
177 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm seriously thinking of switching to a CAI in my 07 G6 (I'll be talking to Lampoon when I save up some more $$), but the various mechanics that I've spoken to about them say that there are lots of adjustments that would have to made to the engine to have it work properly.

Other than their statements getting them out of having to do a bit of work, how much truth is in what they say? :confused:

Are there many adjustments to be made after install? I used to be a backyard mechanic, but that was on older cars where you could climb in the engine compartment to do your work. Now, it 10 pounds of $#!^ in a 5 pound bag. Drop a wrench and it gets lost, lol. :D

Any and all comments/suggestions welcome.

Perfessor

·
Decepticon Extraordinaire
5,348 Posts
Im always late to the party. lol

Your stock pipe has a few squeezes in it. Look at the 90 off the TBI.
Also look in front at the indents - like the one for your dipstick.
Air can only flow at the rate the smallest point will allow (choke point).

The FPU is basically a mandrel bent true 3" connection from your TBI to your MAF.

It allows 24% more air to flow over stock.

Keep in mind the G6 is not a race car so there isnt a huge difference but users report more torque on the lower end.....and well....there is that Bling factor! lol

Its for people who want to get all they can from an intake.

K&N mke a nice front pipe but their heat shield is horrible.
Injen is a 2.7" system which is smaller than your TBI so its a hit from the get go.
Crabs- stay away from them - they itch.

There are a few cheap eBay options but you get what you pay for.
There are mixed reviews on them. Some say they work...others say they are junk.

The V6 engines adapt well to an intake. Get one!

·
Premium Member
4,232 Posts
Of course an intake on a skyline makes no difference in a shop where the temperature is a constant.