Pontiac G6 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
114 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I have had my 2009 G6 GT since October, so almost 5 months and I want to write a review so that people who are looking at these cars can see what I am experiencing. Let me start out by saying that this will be the last American car that I ever own, the G6 is just so cheap feeling, it seems that GM cut every corner they could to save a buck in this car. I have been fighting noises since I bought the car, my rear shocks are clunking away when I go over the slightest bumps, I had this obnoxious squeaking which ended up being the e-brake cable bracket. Luckily I have hydraulic steering and never got the infamous clunking when steering. Mind you this car is a 2009 with just over 61,000 miles on it... this is ridicules. I work on cars for a living and after having seeing everyone else's issues with the G6 I will be more then happy to trade it in....That leads me to my next point, good luck selling it. The resale on these cars is atrocious...

Just a heads up if you are looking at a G6.... I will stick with my Honda's from now on. :):beer:

·
Premium Member
4,232 Posts
I've got a 2009 with just over 62k on it. I've owned this car since brand new and frankly I love it. Sure its a bit noisy but aside from that I really havent experienced many issues. GM has never let me down. But I guess its all in how you take care of it and drive it.
To each their own.

·
Registered
462 Posts
The steering clunk has to do with the intermediate shaft which all G6s have regardless which steering system it came with, electric or hydraulic. So if yours didn't clunk consider yourself lucky. Mine was re-lubed 3 times.

The G6 I agree probably isn't a high quality product. But the 2008+ Malibu which is basically its twin is a much improved car. For about the same price GM didn't cut corners with the Malibu. It's no secret that GM didn't love Pontiac and drove it to the ground.