Pontiac G6 Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I purchased a 2008 base sedan in mid 2012, took it to get serviced for that transmission recall yesterday & they mentioned I needed new tires soon. I was already considering getting rims for it eventually I figured I might as well kill two birds with one stone. Unfortunately I'm new to this whole owning a car thing & could use some help findin out what size I could get without altering control or anything crazy. Any input would be appreciated!

·
Legend
782 Posts
You can get anything from 15's to 20's. It depends on the ride quality vs look you want. Smaller rims = better ride quality as far as driving down the road and it feeling more smooth and less bumpy but small rims are a waste of money in my opinion. Larger rims you get the look at the sacrifice of ride quality. For example I'm running 20" rims while lowered. The ride has suffered accordingly but its not by any means unbearable. And I have the look I want. The norm for people to go are usually 18's and then a few people run 17's or 20's. It's really all about what type of look your going for.

But the important things are the bolt pattern of your rim is 5x110 and in my opinion I wouldn't really go wider than an 8.5 on the rim size. I'm running 20x8.5 on 225x35x20 tires while lowered. I have no rubbing issues or anything. Just some negative camber in the back which can be fixed by a couple shims.