Pontiac G6 Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am looking to go from a Monsoon head unit to an aftermarket one. I am wondering what all I will lose if I do this? I previously owned a G6 that was not a Monsoon system, and I was able to go aftermarket but not lose anything. I do know I will lose MPG, SAT, and the dummmie alarms(oil washer fluid). What else is out?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
27 Posts
You can purchase an adapter kit that will come with a small driver info center display you can remote mount, put in glove box, Etc. this way you retain the info display that was integrated into the Monsoon head unit. I paid about $200 for the kit. Pricey, but I didn't want to lose my info for ext temp, mileage etc.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
4,232 Posts
You can swap in a 2010 gauge cluster and button set to retain all the factory crap and run an aftermarket system
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
27 Posts
Do you know a particular part number for that cluster or have any links to info? Much appreciated. I am planning to install an aftermarket radio and the external display kit I bought is quite bulky and I can't seem to find a place to mount it that will look good and be visible to read outside temp, economy etc. if I could do a cluster swap and retain the DIC that would be awesome.
Thanks


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
27 Posts
Outstanding detailed write up! Thanks for your help with this. I purchased the Metra module but after seeing this I am excited to get parts and try. I want to keep the OEM look and this is the way to do it. I have an 07 GTP and I will follow up after the swap is complete to let everyone know how it went. Hopefully I don't need to flash the BCM, sometimes it's hard to get a good service tech who understands exactly what you need done and understands you know what you are talking about!

Thanks again!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
27 Posts
Well I installed a $80 2010 G6 cluster from eBay, purchased the new DIC steering wheel switch, swapped pin positions on the switch wiring and added extra wire to cluster harness all as per the detailed instructions from CruisinG6. Everything works great! Haven't changed out my factory radio yet so I didn't wire in my PAC factory audio retention module so I don't have turn signal or door chimes, but all functions work perfect. Tell the truth it's kind of nice not listening to the blinker click at s long stoplight! This was a 2007 GTP and like I said I installed DIC cluster from a 2010. No programming necessary. Mileage and everything showed up correctly. My factory radio still reads out the info as does the DIC on the cluster. The info will scroll with the radio info button or with the steering wheel info button.
I'm excited to get my nav radio and backup camera installed now.

This was a slick and CHEAP upgrade. Wish I had found this forum before I bought the METRA Kit to relocate the radio DIC. Wasted $200 bucks on that kit now that I don't need to use it. If anyone is interested in buying a Metra kit, let me know. I'll sell it open box unused for $100. Retailers sell it for $300.
Big thanks to CruisinG6 for this awesome, clean upgrade! You can't beat having a factory setup like this.
Picture of my cluster, and switches installed:



Image1459370122.161601.jpg


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2 Posts
Good job on that! I'm decinding on what/how I'd like to upgrade the Monsoon form my 06 GTP...as I've decided to hold off on a new car for another 18 months. I'll let you know in the next week if I can take the Metra offa you for $100 :)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
27 Posts
Here is the Metra Kit I have. New Open Box, never installed.
Has remote DIC, Double Din Radio Mount, and harness. This kit allows plug'n play to retain Full factory features (except steering wheel controls, need additional module for wheel controls) but should retain OnStar and RAP. Harness is about 3 foot long so you can remote mount the DIC in glove box or center console.
I was going to extend the wiring and build a custom overhead console to mount the DIC overhead, much like the W body cars had in the early 2000's.
Now that I did the cluster swap I won't need this anymore. I will just go out and buy a Double Din radio mount.
Let me know if you are interested in the kit. I will sell for $100 including shipping to 48.
Thanks!

Here are a couple pics of the kit I have.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
Here is the Metra Kit I have. New Open Box, never installed.
Has remote DIC, Double Din Radio Mount, and harness. This kit allows plug'n play to retain Full factory features (except steering wheel controls, need additional module for wheel controls) but should retain OnStar and RAP. Harness is about 3 foot long so you can remote mount the DIC in glove box or center console.
I was going to extend the wiring and build a custom overhead console to mount the DIC overhead, much like the W body cars had in the early 2000's.
Now that I did the cluster swap I won't need this anymore. I will just go out and buy a Double Din radio mount.
Let me know if you are interested in the kit. I will sell for $100 including shipping to 48.
Thanks!

Here are a couple pics of the kit I have.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I know this post is super old but I was curious if you still have this Metra Kit available?
 
1 - 10 of 10 Posts
Top