Pontiac G6 Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, I've got a black G6 GT Sedan for 3 weeks now, and this is the first black car I've owned.
Question is............... how soon can I wax this car without damaging the clearcoat finish?
I've been using LiquidGlass for the past 6 years on my old 96 Grand Am and I love the way it worked on the white body color. But that was on a 1996 paint, and I have no idea how it would effect a new car, especially a black one.
I really have a wanting to wax this car, it is my first new one ( that I really like ) in 10 years. But I'd hate to put "spider veins" in the new car finish.
I've seen these new "spray on - wipe off" waxes, and am curious what others thought of these.
Any thoughts or tips would be greatly appreciated by this Pontiac fiend.
Oh, by the way, I took off those rediculous looking GM emblems on the doors. What a complete waste of money they spent on putting those on.
:barf:
The car looks much better without them. I am hoping to find a simple Pontiac Emblem to replace them.
Thanks in advance for all advice.
GD

·
Registered
13 Posts
You can wax your car as soon as you take it home. Anyway, it's not like it was painted the day before you bought it. First thing I'd do, is to clay the car, even if it's brand new. You would be amazed at how much contaminents are bonded on the paint !

For the spray wax, IMO they're only good to maintain de "just waxed" look, not to actually wax a car. Once the car is waxed (with a real wax!), once in a while you'd spray the spray wax to have te car look like the day you waxed the car. Though, I'd recommend waxing your car every 3 months, especially since it's black. (My car is black also.)

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
lamonpat said: