Pontiac G6 Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alright, I'm new to starting a new 'thread', I'm not sure if I'm in the right category or if this has already been discussed... but I'm really disappointed in GM's choice of which brands to keep. Pontiac was one of its best sellers and only performance brand, so why get rid of it? What do ya think?

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
now GM has two 'work brands' (GMC and Chevy) and two luxury brands (Cadillac and Buick) instead of having a work brand (Chevy) a luxury brand (Cadillac) a performance brand (Pontiac) and a unique brand (Hummer).

they should just put us in charge. HAHA:rolleyes:

·
Registered
912 Posts
Well for me i never really liked pontiac :D

Until i got one its kind of a love hate thing LOL

But after the six came looks like they started making Gold but yeah short lived

My next car was gonna be a G8 GT or Wrx i know big difference but yeah

Im more of a performance over show but its changed lately with what i can afford to do.

When i think of pontiac going im reminded of the fact that a young engineer from Pontiac Came up with the "Wide Track" Are brand was the first cars to have a wider tire and wider wheel base for better performance. long long time ago.:blah::blah:

·
Professional geek
433 Posts
Unfortunately Pontiac was NOT a big seller, at least outside the fleet (i.e. rental car) and secondary markets. Part of it was the time they spent in the mid-70's to mid-80s with cars that were not very exciting (Trans Am aside, but even that was so so in that time frame). There were a few decent cars in the 90s and 2000s that were okay, but GM has never particularly good with making plastic interiors look decent or functional (anyone for manual shifting with a drink in their G6 cupholder?).